Islamabad United win opener of PSL 2017

By on February 10, 2017

Islamabad United win opener of PSL 2017


After some wonderful batting display by both teams, Islamabad came out as a winning team. It was an energetic opening match so far and fans are expecting same from the upcoming games of PSL. 

After winning the toss Islamabad United decided to field first. It was seemed to be a better decision, when Irfan gets first wicket on first ball of the match. Hafeez once again disappointed his fans and had a golden duck. then after Kamran Akmal and Malan put a good partnership of 122 runs and Zalmi was having a wonderful time, when they both were batting. Once Islamabad United dismissed Malan and Kamran, they hold Peshawar back and restricted them to 190. Once they were set to have over 230 runs, but after some wonderful bowling by Zalmi held back them to only 190. 

Chasing this huge total, wasn’t an easy task, but United started very well and briskly they were on their way to win this match. Smith, Haddin, and Watson put good contributions in team’s success. Surprisingly rain came to halt the game, at that time Islamabad were 79 for 1 and 1 run ahead of DL method. That slight break reduced the match to 18 overs and revised target was set. Islamabad United went toward target very effectively. finally they won the match by 7 wickets. Zalmi’s bowling and fielding was sub-standardized which might be the cause of this loss. 

Player of the match was awarded to Brad Haddin on his super performance with bat. 

Smart Scorecard: 

Peshawar Zalmi 190 for 9 (overs 20) Kamran Akmal 88, Malan 43  

Islamabad United 175 for 3 (overs 17.4) Haddin 73, Smith 55, Watson 26* 

Result: Islamabad United won by 7 wickets (with 2 balls remaining) (D/L method)

Find more fixtures of PSL 2017