All-round Van Niekerk blasts Proteas women to opening series victory

All-round Van Niekerk blasts Proteas women to opening series victory

South Africa women’s captain, Dané van Niekerk took three wickets and scored an unbeaten 71 runs to lead her side to an emphatic, seven-wicket victory in the opening fixture of their three-match series against Sri Lanka at PPC Newlands on Friday.

The skipper’s spell of 3/12 in four overs along with Masabata Klaas’ 2/22 helped restrict the opposition to 90/8 at the end of their innings after Chamari Attapaththu won the toss and elected to bat first.

Hasini Perera and Imalka Mendis were the only pair who reached double figures, top scoring with 27 and 25 runs respectively.

Van Niekerk took the spotlight again in South Africa’s reply, making even more of a case for herself as an opening batter.

She smashed 13 fours in her 55-ball knock as the hosts cantered to victory with 34 balls to spare.

The second match will take place at the Bidvest Wanderers this Sunday, 03 February. Play starts at 09:45 (SAST) with the build-up on SuperSport 2 starting at 09:30.

Get the latest updates and News follow us on our social media channels




Most Runs (T20s)

1Chris Gayle13296
2Kieron Pollard9966
3Brendon McCullum9922
4Shoaib Malik9653
5David Warner9090

Most Wickets (T20s)

1Dwayne Bravo495
2Lasith Malinga389
3Sunil Narine379
4Imran Tahir355
5Shakib Al Hasan354
6Sohail Tanveer340

Most Runs (T20Is)

1Virat KohliIND2794
2Rohit SharmaIND2773
3Martin GuptillNZ2536
4Shoaib MalikPAK2321
5Brendon McCullumNZ2140

Most Wickets (T20Is)

1Lasith MalangaSL106
2Shahid AfridiPAK98
3Shakib Al HasanBAN92
4Umar GulPAK85
5Saeed AjmalPAK85

Term of Use

Privacy Policy


Copyright © 2016-2020 Home Of T20.

Ads Banner

Social Profile