Incessant rain forces another abandoned contest in KPL

Incessant rain forces another abandoned contest in KPL

Bangalore, August 19: KV Siddharth justified Mysuru Warriors’ decision to bat first in the day’s second game with a blistering 49 not out to guide Amit Verma and Co to 82 for 1 in 11 overs against Belagavi Panthers before rain washed away their hopes of a maiden win. The teams ended with one point each.

Mysuru, who lost to Shivamogga Lions on Sunday, had witnessed an abandoned contest against Bengaluru Blasters in their opener. 

Having broken the trend of teams opting to bowl in the second game of the day due to rain, the Warriors got off to a flyer after losing Dega Nischal early on. Zahoor Farooqui, the paceman, was the orchestrator of the first victim, but neither he nor the rest of the young bowling attack could do much against Siddharth under lights at the M Chinnaswamy stadium on Monday (August 19).

Having scored 77 in his previous stint with the bat against Shivamogga Lions on Sunday, Siddharth stamped his authority with some belligerent off-side play. Amit Verma, coming in at one-down, was equally brusque in his response to Panthers’ bowlers.

The duo added 65 runs for the second-wicket with Siddharth, a first-class regular for Karnataka, adding an unbeaten 49 and Amit Verma compiled 23 not out before rain forced the umpires, at 8:22 pm, to take the players off the field.

As has been the case most evenings, rain failed to dissipate, and the match was called off at 10:27 pm.

Brief scores: 

Mysuru Warriors 82 for 1 in 11 overs (KV Siddharth 49 not out, Amit Verma 23 not out) vs Belagavi PanthersPoints: Warriors: 1; Panthers: 1.

Get the latest updates and News follow us on our social media channels




Most Runs (T20s)

1Chris Gayle13296
2Kieron Pollard9966
3Brendon McCullum9922
4Shoaib Malik9653
5David Warner9090

Most Wickets (T20s)

1Dwayne Bravo495
2Lasith Malinga389
3Sunil Narine379
4Imran Tahir355
5Shakib Al Hasan354
6Sohail Tanveer340

Most Runs (T20Is)

1Virat KohliIND2794
2Rohit SharmaIND2773
3Martin GuptillNZ2536
4Shoaib MalikPAK2321
5Brendon McCullumNZ2140

Most Wickets (T20Is)

1Lasith MalangaSL106
2Shahid AfridiPAK98
3Shakib Al HasanBAN92
4Umar GulPAK85
5Saeed AjmalPAK85

Term of Use

Privacy Policy


Copyright © 2016-2020 Home Of T20.

Ads Banner

Social Profile