Monday, 20 January, 2020

Can Pakistan whitewash the T20 International Series ?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
Home of T20

Lankan Premier League In Action Again

Five Wicket Victory

Some History of Lankan Premier league

Sri Lankan Premier league is T20 format cricket League in Sri Lanka. The league was proposed back in 2011 in Srilanka. But the first season of the league was postponed and happened in 2012. Sri Lankan Inter-Provincial T20 league was replaced by LPL.

After the first season, 2013 and 2014 edition never happened. The reasons behind the cancellation of the later seasons were Organisation problems and the sponsorship lacking.

Another reason for the cancellation of 2013 season was the inability of franchises to meet payment deadlines.

Lankan Premier Leauge Announced

Now Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has announced the LPL (Lankan Premier Leauge) ones again. The new T20 league is set to happen between August to September 2018.

In Media Release of SLC website, it is said: “Sri Lanka Cricket is delighted to announce its aspiration to launch a T20 League with the participation of Sri Lankan and International players.”

Clash with Other Leagues

During the time span, Sri Lankan Cricket team have no commitments to international series. However, the ability to attract international players may get affected. As Caribbean Premier League and England’s T20 Blast are scheduled in the same span.

Foreign Talent

Australia, Bangladesh and  New Zealand players can be the target of Lankan Premier League. Most often, the International who are free during this tenure can be the part of the league. Pakistani players availability is subjected to their  Zimbabwe Tour whether it happens or not.

Fixture of The Leauge

The fixture of the league will consist of 6 teams, as per the planning of SLC. Each team will play first ten round. And each team will face another team two times.



Most Runs (T20s)

1Chris Gayle13051
2Brendon McCullum9922
3Kieron Pollard9780
4Shoaib Malik9120
5David Warner8803

Most Wickets (T20s)

1Dwayne Bravo490
2Lasith Malinga385
3Sunil Narine379
4Shakib Al Hasan354
5Sohail Tanveer340
6Imran Tahir338

Most Runs (T20Is)

1Virat KohliIND2450
2Rohit SharmaIND2443
3Martin GuptillNZ2283
4Shoaib MalikPAK2263
5Brendon McCullumNZ2140

Most Wickets (T20Is)

1Lasith MalangaSL104
2Shahid AfridiPAK98
3Shakib Al HasanBAN92
4Umar GulPAK85
5Saeed AjmalPAK85

Term of Use

Privacy Policy


Copyright © 2016-2020 Home Of T20.

Ads Banner

Social Profile