Sune Luus to lead Proteas Women in India

Sune Luus to lead Proteas Women in India

Khaka and Chetty return to action; Mlaba named as a new cap


Monday, 09 September 2019


SUNE LUUS continues in her role as stand-in captain of the Proteas women’s team for the tour of India following the unfortunate return of Dane van Niekerk to the injury list.


The tour consists of five T20 International matches followed by three One-Day Internationals.


The squad sees the return to action of Ayabonga Khaka who has not been available for over a year following serious shoulder surgery. Her last appearance for the Proteas was against England last year. Khaka has been easing back into cricket action via the Emerging Series against Bangladesh followed by the recent national squad training camp at Pietermaritzburg.


Another senior player, Trisha Chetty, also returns to the ODI squad after a lengthy injury-enforced absence. At the other end of the scale Nonkululeko Mlaba is named as a debutant while there is a recall for Anneke Bosch. The latter two players were also part of the Emerging Series against Bangladesh and performed impressively.


Marizanne Kapp is not available for the five T20 matches.


“We are excited with the crop of players selected for the bilateral tour of India,” commented CSA Selection convener Clinton du Preez. “With a few players not available for the tour, it gives us an opportunity to look at some options going into the upcoming New Zealand Away Series and the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup.


“Nonkululeko Mlaba has been included as a new cap into the squad on the back of a successful Emerging Tour against Bangladesh and the Women’s T20 Super League. She is a talented left-arm spinner who will complement our bowling attack.


“Anneke Bosch has been a steady contributor for North West and was also part of the recent Emerging Squad, and she gives us as an extra all-rounder option.”


National head coach Hilton Moreeng was equally upbeat about the prospects. “This is a very important tour for us as we continue to gain competitive game time leading up to next year’s ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in Australia.


“This is followed by the ODI series which is an important part of the qualification process for the ICC Women’s World Cup in 2021.”




T20I: Sune Luus (Northerns, Capt), Anneke Bosch (North West), Tasmin Brits (North West), Nadine de Klerk (Northerns), Shabnim Ismail (Gauteng), Sinalo Jafta (WP), Ayabonga Khaka (Gauteng), Lara Goodall (WP), Lizelle Lee (North West), Nonkululeko Mlaba (KZN Coastal), Tumi Sekhukhune (North West), Nondumiso Shangase (KZN Coastal), Mignon van der Merwe (Northerns), Lara Wolvaardt (WP)


ODI: Sune Luus (Northerns, Capt), Tasmin Brits (North West), Trisha Chetty (Gauteng), Nadine de Klerk (Northerns), Shabnim Ismail (Gauteng), Ayabonga Khaka (Gauteng), Lara Goodall (WP), Marizanne Kapp (EP), Lizelle Lee (North West), Nonkululeko Mlaba (KZN Coastal), Tumi Sekhukhune (North West), Nondumiso Shangase (KZN Coastal), Mignon van der Merwe (Northerns), Lara Wolvaardt (WP)




September 19: 1st T20 warm-up match v BP XI

September 22: 2nd T20 warm-up match v BP XI

September 24: 1st T20 International

September 26: 2nd T20 International

September 29: 3rd T20 International

October 1: 4th T20 International

October 4: 5th T20 International


Note: All T20 matches to be played at Surat


October 9: 1st ODI

October 11: 2nd ODI

October 14: 3rd ODI


Note: All ODIs to be played at Baroda

Get the latest updates and News follow us on our social media channels




Most Runs (T20s)

1Chris Gayle13296
2Kieron Pollard9966
3Brendon McCullum9922
4Shoaib Malik9653
5David Warner9090

Most Wickets (T20s)

1Dwayne Bravo495
2Lasith Malinga389
3Sunil Narine379
4Imran Tahir355
5Shakib Al Hasan354
6Sohail Tanveer340

Most Runs (T20Is)

1Virat KohliIND2794
2Rohit SharmaIND2773
3Martin GuptillNZ2536
4Shoaib MalikPAK2321
5Brendon McCullumNZ2140

Most Wickets (T20Is)

1Lasith MalangaSL106
2Shahid AfridiPAK98
3Shakib Al HasanBAN92
4Umar GulPAK85
5Saeed AjmalPAK85

Term of Use

Privacy Policy


Copyright © 2016-2020 Home Of T20.

Ads Banner

Social Profile