Ullal stars in Lions’ easy win in KPL

Ullal stars in Lions’ easy win in KPL

Bangalore, August 17: Shivamogga Lions broke their jinx in the Redmi Karnataka Premier League powered by Dream 11, comfortably beating Hubli Tigers by six wickets here at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium on Saturday.

The Lions, who hadn’t notched a single victory all of last season, rode on an impressive batting display from Nihal Ullal and an important performance from left-arm spinner Rishabh Singh to start this season on a different and positive note.

Chasing Hubli’s 154 all out, they reached the target with 12 balls to spare

Ullal was the cornerstone in Lions’ victory, scoring an unbeaten 88 runs from 60 balls with 11 fours and three sixes. Rishabh picked up three wickets for 19 runs. 

The day’s first encounter began with R Vinay Kumar, the Tigers’ skipper, opting to bat after winning the toss. The pitch, still damp from overnight rain, was difficult to get runs on. The nature of the wicket gave Abhimanyu Mithun, the Lions skipper, the freedom to use three of his spinners even before the Power Play began.

The Tigers were stuttering at 53 for 3 by the ninth over until KB Pawan came up with a fluent 53 from 37 balls. That, coupled with KL Shrijith’s attacking 33, set them up for a big score.

But Rishabh, the left-arm spinner, picked up three wickets in the 19th over to end their innings abruptly. T Pradeep, too, finished with three wickets but unlike Rishabh, he gave away 47 runs.

Lions’ response was one of haste as Ullal and Arjun Hoysala (13) got going. Hoysala and Sujith N Gowda (1) got out in quick succession but Ullal kept going. The diminutive batsman was in wicked touch from the start, slaying bowlers with a firm head on his shoulders and plenty of time to spare.

With no obvious signs of weakness at Ullal’s end, the Tigers hoped for some reprieve at the other end. They got a bit of that when Pavan Deshpande (20) was dismissed by Aditya Somanna, but they were out of the contest by then.


Hubli Tigers 154 all out in 20 overs (KB Pawan 53, KL Shrijith 33; Pradeep T 3/47, HS Sharath 2/30, Rishabh Singh 3/19) lost to Shivamogga Lions (Nihal Ullal 88, Pavan Deshpande 20, Akshay Ballal 20; Mitrakant Yadav 2-26) by six wickets.

Get the latest updates and News follow us on our social media channels




Most Runs (T20s)

1Chris Gayle13296
2Kieron Pollard9966
3Brendon McCullum9922
4Shoaib Malik9653
5David Warner9090

Most Wickets (T20s)

1Dwayne Bravo495
2Lasith Malinga389
3Sunil Narine379
4Imran Tahir355
5Shakib Al Hasan354
6Sohail Tanveer340

Most Runs (T20Is)

1Virat KohliIND2794
2Rohit SharmaIND2773
3Martin GuptillNZ2536
4Shoaib MalikPAK2321
5Brendon McCullumNZ2140

Most Wickets (T20Is)

1Lasith MalangaSL106
2Shahid AfridiPAK98
3Shakib Al HasanBAN92
4Umar GulPAK85
5Saeed AjmalPAK85

Term of Use

Privacy Policy


Copyright © 2016-2020 Home Of T20.

Ads Banner

Social Profile