Dhaka Wins Bangladesh Premier League third time

Dhaka wins BPL third time. Gladiators won 2012 and 2013 editions, only they missed last years’ which was one by Comilla Victorians. They (Dhaka Dynamites) win Final of BPL 2016 in style by 56 runs against quality side of Rajshahi Kings. It was full house and organizers claimed this years’ BPL as one of big SUCCESS for them in the history of BPL.



Everyone was eager to see new champion, but Dhaka did it in style and be able to beat Rajshahi Kings, who won both of their matches in the tournament against Dhaka.

After winning the toss Rajshahi decided to chase down total what Dhaka will do for them. This wasn’t their day to chase down that total. Both teams remain unchanged. Evan Lewis and Mehedi Maruf came to open the innings for Dhaka Dynamites while Williams opened bowling with the new ball. Dynamites openers gave them some brisk start until Mehedi Maruf flows forward and tries to carve over cover doesn’t get the requisite connection and spoons an easy catch to Williams at point on bowling of Miraz. Lewis was joined by Nasir Hossain at crease, his stay at crease was also brief one when Nasir find himself out of the crease and in the result he was stumped on the bowling of Afif. Lewis saw another wicket fall around him when Mosaddek also back to pavilion.

Then after he and Sangakkara gave momentum to innings. They both put quick 41 runs to their team’s total. Lewis made 45 off 31 balls. Sangakkara kept playing sensibly and shown some responsibility and went till the end. His stay made Dynamites able to score over 150, which was good score. They (Dynamites) made 159 runs in their 20 overs. Sangakkara remained top scorer with 36 runs while Farhad Reza picked up three wickets for Kings.

It wasn’t an easy task for Kings to chase down this total. One or two sensible innings were required by any of Kings Batsmen. But none of their batters shown that courage or responsibility to chase down this total and full team were bowled out for 103 inside 18 overs.

Rajshahi’s chase wasn’t up to the requirements what they were required to do. Their best partnership between Sabbir Rahman and Mominul Haque came at 6.55. That type of batting wasn’t required because they needed 8 runs per over from ball 1. They both put 47 Runs off 41 balls at second wicket partnership. They both went right after each other which dragged Rajshahi Kings into deep trouble. Now chase was in need of on Samit Patel, James Franklin and Darren Sammy’s heroics, but the big-hitting trio fell in three consecutive overs. Dynamites bowlers were all over the Rajshahi batsmen, their wickets were became like gifts of Christmas for them.

From 62 for 1 to 103 for 9 within 47 balls, there whole team bundled out. Which wasn’t expected from team like Rajshahi, but we can’t ran away from giving credit to Dynamites bowlers and their fielders. They were the team who was up for the task and ready to grab their hands on Trophy. They won it by 56 runs. Player of the match awarded to great Kumar Sangakkara on his impressive batting and wicket keeping. While Player of the Tournament awarded to Mehmudullah Riyad on his superb performance in the tournament, through his captaincy, bowling and batting.

Smart Scorecard

Dhaka Dynamites 159 for 9 (20 Overs)

Rajshahi Kings 103 for 9 (17.4 Overs)

Result: Dhaka Dynamites won by 56 runs.

Sea also: We shared this before BPL 2016 



Most Runs (T20s)

1Chris Gayle13296
2Kieron Pollard9966
3Brendon McCullum9922
4Shoaib Malik9653
5David Warner9090

Most Wickets (T20s)

1Dwayne Bravo495
2Lasith Malinga389
3Sunil Narine379
4Imran Tahir355
5Shakib Al Hasan354
6Sohail Tanveer340

Most Runs (T20Is)

1Virat KohliIND2794
2Rohit SharmaIND2773
3Martin GuptillNZ2536
4Shoaib MalikPAK2321
5Brendon McCullumNZ2140

Most Wickets (T20Is)

1Lasith MalangaSL106
2Shahid AfridiPAK98
3Shakib Al HasanBAN92
4Umar GulPAK85
5Saeed AjmalPAK85

Term of Use

Privacy Policy


Copyright © 2016-2020

Home Of T20.

Social Profile