Netherlands squad for Desert T20 Cup Challenge 2017

Netherlands squad for Desert T20 Cup Challenge 2017

The Dutch side will look at the group stages of next month’s Desert Twenty20 tournament in the United Arab Emirates with a fair degree of satisfaction, given that the draw has kept them apart from both Afghanistan and Ireland.

The Netherlands will meet Oman, Scotland and Hong Kong in their three Group A pool matches, in which they are ranked first, while hosts UAE and Namibia will complete Group B.

There have been plenty of hard-fought T20 matches between the Dutch, Afghanistan and Ireland, although Peter Borren’s side has recently proved too strong for the Irish, winning their last three encounters. They last met Afghanistan in this format in the World T20 Qualifier, losing by 32 runs.


It was Oman who handed the Netherlands their only other defeat in that tournament, and Borren and his men will doubtless be especially keen to avenge that loss when they meet in the early game at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi on Sunday, 15 January.

They will take on Scotland in the evening match at the same venue two days later, and complete their group program with their match against Hong Kong in the Dubai International Stadium, again in the later fixture.

The semi-finals and final will be played at the same venue on 20 January.

Netherlands squad:

Peter Borren (captain), Wesley Barresi (wicketkeeper), Ben Cooper , Timm van der Gugten , Ahsan Malik Jamil , Vivian Kingma , Paul van Meekeren, Roelof van der Merwe , Stephan Myburgh , Max O’Dowd , Michael Rippon , Pieter Seelaar (VOC), Tobias Visée , Sikander Zulfiqar .



Most Runs (T20s)

1Chris Gayle13296
2Kieron Pollard9966
3Brendon McCullum9922
4Shoaib Malik9653
5David Warner9090

Most Wickets (T20s)

1Dwayne Bravo495
2Lasith Malinga389
3Sunil Narine379
4Imran Tahir355
5Shakib Al Hasan354
6Sohail Tanveer340

Most Runs (T20Is)

1Virat KohliIND2794
2Rohit SharmaIND2773
3Martin GuptillNZ2536
4Shoaib MalikPAK2321
5Brendon McCullumNZ2140

Most Wickets (T20Is)

1Lasith MalangaSL106
2Shahid AfridiPAK98
3Shakib Al HasanBAN92
4Umar GulPAK85
5Saeed AjmalPAK85

Term of Use

Privacy Policy


Copyright © 2016-2020

Home Of T20.

Social Profile