Magic Mumbai do it again

Champions of IPL 2017 | Magic Mumbai do it again

In another fascinating climax to an IPL season, Mumbai Indians held their nerve with a scintillating display of defensive bowling, to ensure that the trophy will be heading back to Wankhede for a third time in six years. Having won the toss, Mumbai attempted to exert some scoreboard pressure, however Rising Pune superstar Jaydev Unadkat had other ideas, striking early to remove Simmons and Parthiv in quick succession. Rayudu and Sharma then tried to stabilise the innings with some degree of success, before Krunal Pandya stole the show with a crucial 47 from 37 to set Pune 130 for victory.

In reply, Pune looked to have everything under control after a measured 54 run partnership from Rahane and Smith left them needing just 59 from 43 balls for victory with 8 wickets in hand. Enter, the Mumbai seam attack. Bumrah, Malinga and Johnson combined all of their talent and experience to deliver a superbly disciplined spell, conceding just 31 runs from the final 4 overs whilst taking 4 wickets, to ensure scenes of sheer jubilation for the boys in blue.

Brief Scorecard

Mumbai Indians 129/8 (20.0 Overs)

Rising Pune Supergiant 128/6 (20.0 Overs)

Result: Mumbai Indians won by 1 run
PLAYER OF THE MATCH: Krunal Pandya ( 47 off 38 ) 

IPL Closing Ceremony Awards

Ben Stokes gets the Most Valuable Player of the season award.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar gets the Purple Cap – for topping the bowling charts with 26 wickets.

David Warner gets the Orange Cap for scoring 641 runs – the most in the season.

Glenn Maxwell wins the award for hitting the most number of sixes in the season.

Basil Thampi wins the emerging player of the season award.

Sunil Narine wins the award for the fastest fifty of the season – 15 balls against RCB at the Chinnaswamy.

Gujarat Lions win the fair play award.



Most Runs (T20s)

1Chris Gayle13296
2Kieron Pollard9966
3Brendon McCullum9922
4Shoaib Malik9653
5David Warner9090

Most Wickets (T20s)

1Dwayne Bravo495
2Lasith Malinga389
3Sunil Narine379
4Imran Tahir355
5Shakib Al Hasan354
6Sohail Tanveer340

Most Runs (T20Is)

1Virat KohliIND2794
2Rohit SharmaIND2773
3Martin GuptillNZ2536
4Shoaib MalikPAK2321
5Brendon McCullumNZ2140

Most Wickets (T20Is)

1Lasith MalangaSL106
2Shahid AfridiPAK98
3Shakib Al HasanBAN92
4Umar GulPAK85
5Saeed AjmalPAK85

Term of Use

Privacy Policy


Copyright © 2016-2020

Home Of T20.

Social Profile