ICC WT20 News

All 20 teams of T20 World Cup 2024

All 20 teams of T20 World Cup 2024
Image via T20 World Cup

In a thrilling encounter, Uganda emerged victorious against Rwanda in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Africa qualifier, securing a coveted top-two finish. This triumph propels Uganda into the elite group of 20 teams set to participate in the ICC T20 World Cup 2024, slated to be held in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and the West Indies. The roster of qualified teams for this prestigious event is now complete, featuring a diverse array of cricketing nations.

Namibia, another standout performer in the Africa qualifier, remained unbeaten throughout the tournament, further solidifying their claim to a spot in the upcoming T20 World Cup. The final list of qualified teams showcases a global representation of cricketing prowess, including Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, Canada, England, India, Ireland, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Oman, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea (PNG), Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Uganda, and the United States of America (USA).

T20 World Cup 2024 Format

A significant development in the T20 World Cup format is the inclusion of 20 teams, marking the first time in the tournament’s history. The participating teams will be divided into four groups of five each, intensifying the competition from the outset. The top two teams from each group will advance to the Super Eight phase, where the remaining teams will be regrouped into two sets of four. The subsequent battles in the Super Eight will determine the contenders for the semi-finals, culminating in the grand finale.

How Each Team Qualified for World Cup 2024?

Automatic qualifiers as hosts, the UAE and West Indies join the fray alongside Afghanistan and Bangladesh, who secured their positions based on ICC rankings. The likes of England, Pakistan, Australia, South Africa, India, Sri Lanka, New Zealand, and the Netherlands earned direct berths through their performances in the 2022 World Cup. Ireland and Scotland became the first teams from the Europe Qualifier to qualify in July 2023, while Papua New Guinea triumphed in the East Asia-Pacific Qualifier.

Canada’s qualification story unfolded in October 2023 after a decisive victory against Bermuda in the Americas Qualifier. The race to secure spots in the T20 World Cup continued with Nepal and Oman emerging triumphant in the Asia Qualifier the following month. The final chapters of qualification were written by Namibia and Uganda, ensuring their top two finish in the Africa Qualifier.

Also, see:

World Cup 2023 becomes most attended ICC event