Bangladesh News

Bangladesh name squad for first three T20Is against Zimbabwe

Bangladesh name squad for first three T20Is against Zimbabwe
Image via BCB

Bangladesh have unveiled their squad for the first three T20Is against Zimbabwe, kicking off on May 3rd. The selection boasts a blend of experience and exciting new prospects.

Mohammad Saifuddin, the pace-bowling allrounder, makes a much-anticipated return after a lengthy injury layoff. Saifuddin, plagued by a back injury since last October’s T20I, impressed in the Bangladesh Premier League, claiming 15 wickets for Fortune Barishal. His experience and wicket-taking ability will be a valuable asset to the bowling attack.

Another notable inclusion is left-handed opener Tanzid Hasan. The youngster, having played 15 ODIs since his debut in 2023, earns his maiden T20I call-up. While he missed the recent T20Is against Sri Lanka, his decent BPL showing has earned him a shot at the national team.

The squad also sees the return of experienced allrounder Afif Hossain and left-arm spinner Tanvir Islam. Both players bring stability and depth to the side.

However, fans will notice the absence of key figures Shakib Al Hasan and Mustafizur Rahman in the initial three matches. Shakib is expected to join the squad after April 30th, potentially playing a DPL match before the final T20Is. Mustafizur, fresh off his IPL stint, will arrive on May 2nd but might need a fitness assessment before featuring.

Anamul Haque, Taijul Islam, and Mohammad Naim, part of the Sri Lanka T20I squad, miss out this time. Soumya Sarkar remains sidelined with a knee injury sustained during the ODI series against Sri Lanka.

Najmul Hossain Shanto will lead the Bangladesh Tigers in the first three T20Is, with Litton Das, Mahmudullah, Taskin Ahmed, and Shoriful Islam forming the core of the experienced group.

The five-match series begins in Chattogram with the first three games scheduled for May 3rd, 5th, and 7th. The action then shifts to Dhaka for the final two matches on May 10th and 12th.

This Bangladesh squad promises an exciting mix of established names and emerging talents, making the upcoming series against Zimbabwe a must-watch for fans.

Bangladesh squad for first three T20Is:

Najmul Hossain Shanto (capt), Litton Das, Tanzid Hasan, Towhid Hridoy, Mahmudullah, Jaker Ali, Mahedi Hasan, Rishad Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan, Parvez Hossain, Tanvir Islam, Afif Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin

Also, see:

Wasim Akram comes out in support of Mumbai Indians’ skipper Hardik Pandya