Bangladesh win thriller against Sri lanka

Mushfiqur heroics

A close final encounter gives Bangladesh a ticket to play final of Nidahas Trophy 2018 against India. Chasing 160, Bangladesh were given a steady start through Tamim Iqbal’s fifty, and his 64-run stand with Mushfiqur Rahim (28) after Akila Dananjaya struck twice early. But Sri Lanka’s spinners got stuck in after that stand to bring the hosts right back in the game, picking five wickets for 51 runs. But, Mahmudullah single-handedly, provided the emphatic finish that Bangladesh so desperately sought, capping off a memorable evening for his team.

Earlier in the day, Bangladesh had a terrific start after Shakib Al Hasan opted to bowl and reduced Sri Lanka to 41/5 at one stage. Shakib set the tone with a couple of tight overs upfront that resulted in Danushka Gunathilaka attempting a big hit and holing out to long off. Mustafizur Rahman kept the pressure up by picking two more wickets, that of Kusal Mendis and Dasun Shanaka for a golden duck. Mehidy Hasan played a part in getting two other wickets, the run out of Upul Tharanga and having Jeevan Mendis caught at the short fine leg. 

Just as the game seemed to be slipping away quickly from Sri Lanka’s grasp, the two Perera, Kusal and Thisara, put on a rollicking 97-run stand to bring the hosts back in the game in roaring fashion. Kusal, in particular, was dominant against Mustafizur in the bowler’s second spell while Thisara managed to give him good company, with his maiden T20I fifty.


Player of the Match: Mahmudullah Riyad (BAN)

Brief Scorecard:

Sri Lanka 159/7 (Kusal Perera 61, Thisara Perera 58)

Bangladesh 160/8 (Tamim Iqbal 50, Mahmudullah 43*)

Result: Bangladesh won by two wickets



Most Runs (T20s)

1Chris Gayle13296
2Kieron Pollard9966
3Brendon McCullum9922
4Shoaib Malik9653
5David Warner9090

Most Wickets (T20s)

1Dwayne Bravo495
2Lasith Malinga389
3Sunil Narine379
4Imran Tahir355
5Shakib Al Hasan354
6Sohail Tanveer340

Most Runs (T20Is)

1Virat KohliIND2794
2Rohit SharmaIND2773
3Martin GuptillNZ2536
4Shoaib MalikPAK2321
5Brendon McCullumNZ2140

Most Wickets (T20Is)

1Lasith MalangaSL106
2Shahid AfridiPAK98
3Shakib Al HasanBAN92
4Umar GulPAK85
5Saeed AjmalPAK85

Term of Use

Privacy Policy


Copyright © 2016-2020 Home Of T20.

Ads Banner

Social Profile