Birmingham Bears team preview for Blast T20 2019

By on July 18, 2019

Birmingham Bears are winners of the 2014 season of the T20 Blast tournament; they beat Lancashire Lightning by four runs in the final at the Edgbaston. They became runners-up in 2017 but failed to get past the group stage in 2018 season, finishing sixth in the North Group standings with six wins and seven losses from their thirteen concluded matches.

Their last group game came against Worcestershire Rapids which they lost by 15 runs. Ian Bell was one of the tournament’s leading run-scorers last year with 580 runs while Grant Elliot took the most wickets (19) for Birmingham Bears.

Titles: 1 (2014)

Finals Days: 3

Birmingham Bears Squad for Vitality Blast T20 2019

Colin de Grandhomme, Ian Bell, Sam Hain, Jeetan Patel, Grant Elliot (c), Dominic Sibley, Tim Ambrose, Boyd Rankin, Olly Stone, Josh Poysden, Adam Hose, Will Rhodes, Oliver Hannon-Dalby.

Overseas players: Jeetan Patel (New Zealand), Ashton Agar (Australia).

Birmingham Bears First Encounter

They will be playing on July 19, against Worcestershire, North Group at New Road, Worcester.

About Vitality Blast T20 2019:

The Vitality Blast 2019 will last from July 18 to September 21. This is the 17th year of the competition but only the second since its rebranding. The competition will kick start with the clash between Middlesex and Essex at the iconic Lord’s in London and will have a total of 133 matches. There will be a two-week break between the 4th quarter-final and the 1st semi-final. The Finals day, just like the last year, will comprise the semi-finals and the Final which will be played at Edgbaston in Birmingham.

The 18 first-class counties have been categorized into North and South Group for the T20 event. The league stage will see each team play against six of the other eight teams in its own group twice. The remaining two teams in the group will lock horns once, resulting in a total of 14 group games per team, out of which the top four teams will move ahead to the knockouts in the Quarter-final games.

Complete Schedule of Vitality T20 Blast 2019

Get the latest updates and News follow us on our social media channels