Australia New Zealand News T20 Internationals

BLACKCAPS Unveil Young Guns for T20 Showdown with Australia, Boult Returns for Key Matches

BLACKCAPS T20 Squad vs Australia

The BLACKCAPS have named their squad for the highly anticipated three-game KFC T20I series against Australia, starting next Wednesday in Wellington. With key players unavailable, exciting prospects Josh Clarkson and Rachin Ravindra have earned call-ups, while experienced paceman Trent Boult makes a crucial return for select matches.

Fresh Faces Get Big Opportunity:

Injuries to Daryl Mitchell and Kane Williamson’s paternity leave paved the way for uncapped all-rounder Clarkson and rising star Ravindra, fresh off his Test success against South Africa. Selector Sam Wells expressed confidence in the youngsters, highlighting Clarkson’s power hitting and Ravindra’s all-round talent.

Boult Bolsters Bowling Attack:

Trent Boult is back in the mix for games two and three, providing a significant boost to the bowling attack. Test captain Tim Southee will manage his workload across the South Africa and Australia Test series, playing only the first T20I.

Familiar Core, Ferguson Returns:

The remaining squad largely mirrors the team that defeated Pakistan 4-1 in January, with Lockie Ferguson replacing Ben Sears after his return to domestic cricket.

Bracewell & Neesham Unavailable:

Michael Bracewell (finger injury) and Jimmy Neesham (Bangladesh Premier League) are unavailable for selection.

Exciting Series, World Cup Preparation:

With packed crowds expected for all three matches, Wells emphasized the importance of the series as a test against a strong Australian side. The T20 World Cup in June adds further weight to the matches, making it a valuable gauge for both teams.

Australia Arrives, Test Series Follows:

The Tegel Test series follows the T20s and gets underway at the Cello Basin Reserve with the first Test starting on Thursday, February 19, followed by the second Test at Hagley Oval starting on Friday, March 8.


Mitchell Santner (c), Finn Allen, Trent Boult (games 2 & 3), Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson*, Devon Conway (wk), Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Adam Milne, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee (game 1)

*Potential T20I debut

Australia T20I squad:

Mitchell Marsh (c), Sean Abbott, Jason Behrendorff, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Matt Short, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Don’t miss the action! Catch the full three-match T20I series between the BLACKCAPS and Australia, starting February 21st in Wellington.