Lanka Premier League News

Colombo Strikers Squad for Lanka Premier League (LPL) 2023

Colombo Strikers Squad for Lanka Premier League (LPL)

The Colombo Strikers are one of the six teams that compete in the Lanka Premier League (LPL), a professional Twenty20 cricket league in Sri Lanka. The team is led by Pakistan’s captain and star batsman Babar Azam, who was one of the four pre-selected players for the 2023 season. The other three pre-selected players were fast bowlers Naseem Shah and Matheesha Pathirana, and all-rounder Chamika Karunaratne.

The Colombo Strikers had a successful auction on June 14, 2023, where they added some quality players to their squad. They bought Sri Lankan opener Pathum Nissanka and wicket-keeper Niroshan Dickwella, who are both explosive batsmen at the top of the order. They also acquired experienced Pakistani paceman Wahab Riaz and hard-hitting middle-order batsman Iftikhar Ahmad. The Strikers also picked some talented local players such as Lakshan Sandakan, Nipun Dananjaya, Nuwanidu Fernando and Dhananjaya Lakshan.

The Colombo Strikers have a balanced and formidable squad for the LPL 2023, which is scheduled to start on July 31. They will be hoping to win their maiden title this year, after finishing as runners-up in 2022 and third in 2021 and 2020.

Colombo Strikers Squad for Lanka Premier League (LPL) 2023

Babar Azam ✈️

Naseem Shah ✈️

Matheesha Pathirana

Chamika Karunaratne

Pathum Nissanka

Niroshan Dickwella

Lakshan Sandakan

Wahab Riaz ✈️

Nipun Dhananjaya

Movin Subasinghe

Lahiru Udara

Eshan Malinga

Iftikhar Ahmed ✈️

Shashika Dulshan

Nuwanidu Fernando

Lorcan Tucker ✈️

Jeffrey Vandersay

Angelo Perera

Dhananjaya Lakshan

Kavishka Anjula

Ramesh Mendis

Yashodha Lanka

Ahan Wickramasinghe