Home of T20

An exclusive platform for T20 cricket

Cricket South Africa domestic season 2020-21

Credit: Cricket South Africa

Cricket South Africa announced the Franchise and Provincial Fixtures for the 2020/21 Season

Cricket South Africa domestic season 2020-21

Friday, 09 October 2020

CRICKET SOUTH AFRICA (CSA) today announced the fixtures for the three revised franchise competitions for the 2020/21 season as well as the senior provincial fixtures for both men and women.

As previously announced the franchises will play a T20 competition in addition to the Momentum One-Day Cup and the CSA Four-Day Franchise Series following the decision to postpone the Mzansi Super League.

The franchise season will start in the first week of November while provincial cricket for both men and women will start at the beginning of January.

“We are pleased that no matches have been reduced despite the late start to the season,” commented CSA Acting Chief Executive Kugandrie Govender. “Both the four-day series and the Momentum One-Day Cup will have the six competing teams divided into two pools of three teams each. They will play a double round of fixtures against teams in their own pool and a single round of cross-pool matches.

“This provides for a minimum of seven matches for each franchise and these will be followed by a five-day final at the conclusion of the CSA Four-Day Franchise Series contested by the two teams topping its respective pool. In the Momentum One-Day Cup after the conclusion of the preliminary round teams ending 1st. and 2nd.  in each pool will contest a cross-pool semi-final each with the respective winners progressing through to the final. 

“The T20 competition will be played over a single round (5 matches) with the top two teams qualifying for the final.

“I cannot stress enough the importance of our domestic system and the important role it plays in our talent development pipeline for the Proteas. One only has to look at the number of players who made successful international debuts in the three formats last season,” concluded Govender.

The fixtures for the various domestic competitions are attached.

Please see below the pools for the various competitions

4-Day Franchise Series

Cape CobrasHollywoodbets Dolphins
Momentum Multiply TitansImperial Lions
WarriorsVKB Knights

Momentum One Day

Hollywoodbets DolphinsCape Cobras
Momentum Multiply TitansImperial Lions
VKB KnightsWarriors

CSA T20 Challenge

Single round of matches with the top two contesting the final at the conclusion of the preliminary round.

CSA Provincial Fixtures

BolandEastern Province
BorderHollywoodbets KwaZulu-Natal Inland
Central Gauteng LionsMpumalanga
EasternsNorth West
Free Stateeta Northerns
Hollywoodbets KwaZulu-Natal CoastalNorthern Cape
LimpopoSouth Western Districts
 Western Province

Women’s Cricket Fixtures            

Central Gauteng LionsEastern ProvinceNorthern Cape
Hollywoodbets KwaZulu-Natal CoastalFree StateKwaZulu-Natal Inland
North WestSouth Western DistrictsMpumalanga
Western Province  

Get the latest updates and Newsfollow us on our social media channels