T10 Cricket

Deccan Gladiators crowned Abu Dhabi T10 champions

Deccan Gladiators clinched their maiden Abu Dhabi T10 title with a convincing 56-run victory over Delhi Bulls in the final. 

Andre Russell’s masterclass of 90 runs, comprising seven sixes and nine fours, ensured Deccan Gladiators lifted the trophy for the first time while Delhi Bulls second-best for the second straight edition.

Earlier in the third-place playoff match, Team Abu Dhabi tied with Bangla Tigers in a last-ball thriller and finished the tournament at third place owing to a better performance in the group stages. 

Andre Russell struck a blistering 90 off 32 balls as Deccan Gladiators triumphed over Delhi Bulls by 56 runs in the final match of Abu Dhabi T10.  

Put in to bat, Deccan Gladiators openers Tom Kohler-Cadmore and Andre Russell got the team off to a flying start with 68/0 at the halfway mark. 

Thereafter, the duo upped the ante, pounding every bowler out of the park. The pair first smashed Romario Shepherd for 23 and later Ravi Rampaul for 21 runs in the eighth and ninth over of their innings to set up a daunting total of 159/0 in their 10 overs, the highest total of this season.

Chasing 160 for victory, Delhi Bulls were off to the worst possible start losing Rahmanullah Gurbaz and Sherfane Rutherford in the second over of the chase to leave them struggling at 25/2 in two overs. 

Chandrapaul Hemraj (42 off 20 balls) tried to keep the Delhi Bulls afloat but they kept losing wickets at regular intervals in the quest of catching up with the climbing run-rate. 

In the end, a clinical all-round effort resulted in a comfortable title win for the Deccan Gladiators.

Brief scores:

Deccan Gladiators: 159/0 (Andre Russell 90, Fazal Haque 0-25) beat Delhi Bulls 103/7 (Chandrapaul Hemraj 42, Tymal Mills 2/4) by 56 runs.  

Complete Match Highlights of the Final game of Abu Dhabi T10 League