Home of T20

An exclusive platform for T20 cricket

Dhaka Dynamites Team Strengths and Eye on its Key Players

Dhaka Dynamites, The team was originally established in 2012 for the inaugural BPL season as the Dhaka Gladiators and they won both the 2012 and 2013 editions of the tournament. The Gladiators were one of the teams dissolved in 2013 after the second edition. The franchise was sold to the current owners Beximco Group and re-branded as the Dynamites. For the 2015 edition of the BPL, the Dynamites were coached by South African batsman Mickey Arthur, and captained by Kumar Sangakkara.

Bangladeshi player Nasir Hossain was selected as the “icon” player of the team. This year they will come stronger as they have added Mahela Jayawardene in their squad. Shakib may be leading the side this year and their new coach Khaled Mehmud is also a capable of giving team a lot. This team is one of the experienced team of BPL 2016. So why not to discuss them in a detail, that who is their key player?

Key Players of Vikings for this year’s Edition are:

Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Dwayne Bravo, Ravi Bopara, and Andre Russell (Overseas Players)

Shakib Al Hassan, Nasir Hossain, Suhrawadi Shuvo, and Mohammad Shahid (Local Players)



Kumar is most experience player of the Dynamites, with his experience Dynamites definitely reached at next level. Sangakkara played cricket almost in every nation represented Sri Lanka and his other teams of domestic leagues. After retiring from International now he is keener to take part in all of Domestic Leagues around the world, recently played for Tallawahas and became champions of CPL this year. Sangakkara’s career is full of numbers, let’s see what is his stats are saying He played 207 Twenty20 games so far and scored 5321, his best score is 94, he averages at 29.23 with a perfect strike rate of 126.93 which is required. He played risk free cricket. He is also play his part fielding behind the wicket, so far his tally of dismissals are 171 in Twenty20 matches.

Mahela Jayawardene


Mahela Jayawardene is another experienced player in their squad which makes them even tougher side to beat, he and Sangakkara played together and made Sri Lankans one of the best team in the world. Now they both will represent Dynamites, which is definitely alarming news for other teams participating in BPL 2016. Mahela played 208 Twenty20 matches (1 ahead of his teammate Sangakkara) scored over 5000 at career best of 110 not out with same strike Rate as of Kumar 129.92. These stats are showing that they both are identical in many things.


Dwayne Bravo is a champion player, a complete cricketer, a complete package to watch. He is best while bowling, Fielding & Fielding. His experience of T20 Cricket will help dynamites to lift the title. Bravo played 329 Twenty20 games, yes 329 games, in which he scored 5125 with his career best of 70 not out, his Strike Rate is 124.90. Looking at his bowling stats, he took 344 wickets in Twenty20 Cricket, which are most by any bowler in Twenty20 Cricket.

Ravi Bopara


Ravi Bopara is a class act, who can bat well in the middle order and also capable of getting wickets in the middle overs through his medium fast and slow paced deliveries. He had represented Chittagong Kings in previous Editions, which shows he has experience of playing in BPL too. He played 233 Twenty20 games so far and scored almost 4800 with his career best of 105 not out at a healthy average  of 27.48 with a good strike rate of 119.59. 165 is the number of wickets he got in this Twenty20 career with best of 6/16.


Andre Russell another player to watch, a destructive player while batting at low down the order. He does bowling as well, with his medium fast Dynamites are strong enough to beat any team in the league. 222 Twenty20 matches are being played by Russell so far in his career in which he scored 3364 at a Strike Rate of 166.53. He just crossed 200 wickets mark in this bowling career of Twenty20 matches.

Shakib Al Hassan


Shakib Al Hassan one of the most prolific player of Bangladesh, who represented Bangladesh and also Kolkata Knight-Riders, Karachi Kings, Dhaka Gladiators, Barbados Tridents, Jamaica Tallawahas and many other franchises. This year he will be leading Dhaka Dynamites. His vast experience of playing around will help the cause of Dynamites to win BPL 2016 title. He scored 3293 in his 209 Twenty20 matches with career best innings of 86 not out at a Strike Rate of 122.87. He took 242 wickets is Twenty20 career which is most by any Bangladeshi Bowler.


Nasir Hossain is another player to watch, he is a complete player, who can bat at middle order, and can bowl some off-spin. Nasir aslo represented Rangpur Riders in previous edition. Nasir’s Twenty20 career is, played 81 Twenty20 matches, Scored 1303 runs at a strike rate of 117.38 and he also took 39 wickets while bowling some off-spin.

Suharwadi Shuvo


Suharwadi Shuvo, slow left arm spinner is a wicket taking option available for Dhaka Dynamites. His presence in playing eleven also gives captain an extra option to bowl more spin on Bangladeshi tracks. Those will support spin bowlers at-most of the occasions. Shuvo played 47 Twenty20 matches and scored 346 runs is his career; his wickets tally is at 36 wickets so far. He will definitely look forward to improve his bowling stats in this year’s BPL.

Mohammad Shahid


Mohammad Shahid is a fast medium bowler, along with Russell and Bravo, he is key to success in bowling attack. He is unfortunate to not have many International matches under his belt. But he is more than enough than his stats. He played 15 matches and took 18 so far.

Other notables are Even Lewis, Seekkugge Parasana, Usama Mir, Wayne Parnell, Mosaddek Hossain, and Mehedi Maruf.

Dhaka Dynamites will be playing their first game on 5th of November 2016 against defending champions Comilla Victorians. 

See also: Complete Schedule 

HomeofT20 playing eleven for Dhaka Dynamites:

Even Lewis, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene,  Nasir Hossain, Shakib Al Hasan, Mosaddek Hossain, Dwayne Bravo, Andre Russell, Suhrawadi Shuvo, Mohammad Shahid, Alauddin Babu, (Other Options) Ravi Bopara, Wayne Parnell.


 Stats Courtesy: espncricinfo on 3rd November 2016.