Elgar outshines James Vince in tense Paarl clash

Elgar outshines James Vince in tense Paarl clash

A feisty career-best T20 innings by Dean Elgar outdid a spectacular half-century by English World Cup winner James Vince on his Mzansi Super League (MSL) debut as the Tshwane Spartans claimed a thrilling eight-wicket win over Paarl Rocks at Eurolux Boland Park on Sunday.

Standard Bank Proteas Test star Elgar smashed an unbeaten 88 off 60 balls (7 fours, 2 sixes) in a masterly chase of 186 to help his side register their first win in their first completed match of the 2019 competition – their previous two matches were abandoned due to rain.

Before that innings, Vince, who won the 50-over World Cup with England back in July, blasted 86 not out off 53 balls (8 fours, 2 sixes) to help his side amass an imposing total in front of a packed Paarl audience, who turned up to witness what turned out to be a thriller in the Winelands.

Elgar outshines James Vince in tense Paarl clash
Elgar outshines James Vince in tense Paarl clash ©SpartansMSLT20/twitter

In the end, it was Elgar that outshone Vince and also some of his own more illustrious team-mates like AB de Villiers to get his side over the line with five balls to spare.

After having their first two matches of the season washed out, the men from Tshwane were looking to find their feet instantaneously, although they were punished by a familiar face in Henry Davids after they lost the toss and were asked to bowl first.

The veteran batsman struck 30 at the top of the order to get his side off to a flier before Morne Morkel (2/24) dismissed him and Rocks skipper Faf du Plessis for a duck.

From 41 for none, Paarl suddenly started to stutter as they lost four wickets by the 11th over. At the other end, Vince was finding his range and he tucked into the bowling to lift his side to a strong 185 for six.

The reply was a powerful one from Tshwane, with Elgar and Theunis de Bruyn (42) putting on the first-century stand of the season – the visitors reaching 104 in the 13th over.

De Villiers came in and plundered 19 off 10 balls to keep the scales tilted in favor of the Spartans.

However, when he edged Tabraiz Shamsi (1/41) there was an opening for the Rocks. But captain Heinrich Klaasen struck a cool 18 off nine balls to help take his side over the line and up to third on the table.

Get the latest updates and News follow us on our social media channels




Most Runs (T20s)

1Chris Gayle13296
2Kieron Pollard9966
3Brendon McCullum9922
4Shoaib Malik9653
5David Warner9090

Most Wickets (T20s)

1Dwayne Bravo495
2Lasith Malinga389
3Sunil Narine379
4Imran Tahir355
5Shakib Al Hasan354
6Sohail Tanveer340

Most Runs (T20Is)

1Virat KohliIND2794
2Rohit SharmaIND2773
3Martin GuptillNZ2536
4Shoaib MalikPAK2321
5Brendon McCullumNZ2140

Most Wickets (T20Is)

1Lasith MalangaSL106
2Shahid AfridiPAK98
3Shakib Al HasanBAN92
4Umar GulPAK85
5Saeed AjmalPAK85

Term of Use

Privacy Policy


Copyright © 2016-2020

Home Of T20.

Social Profile