News Women's Premier League Women's T20 Cricket

Shabnim Ismail bowls fastest delivery in women’s cricket

Shabnim Ismail bowls fastest delivery in women's cricket
Image via WPL

Shabnim Ismail, the former South African pacer, etched her name in history on Tuesday, becoming the first woman cricketer to ever record a delivery exceeding 130 kph. This remarkable feat unfolded during the Women’s Premier League (WPL 2024) match between Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi.

Ismail, playing for Mumbai Indians, unleashed a fiery delivery clocked at an astonishing 132.1 kph while bowling to Delhi Capitals’ captain, Meg Lanning. This record-breaking moment occurred in the third over of the Mumbai Indians’ bowling innings. While her appeal for an LBW dismissal against Lanning was unsuccessful, Ismail’s delivery secured her a place in the record books.

It’s worth noting that this wasn’t the first time Ismail had etched her name in the history books. She already holds the record for the fastest delivery in international women’s cricket, having clocked 128 kph against the West Indies back in 2016. The 35-year-old pacer recently retired from international cricket but continues to showcase her exceptional skills in domestic leagues like the WPL.

Despite making history, Ismail wasn’t entirely satisfied with her overall performance in the match. She conceded 46 runs during her spell and expressed her disappointment, stating, “Personally, I’m very disappointed with my bowling. But Delhi Capitals played really well today.” Her statement reflects her unwavering dedication to excellence, highlighting that even record-breaking performances aren’t enough if they don’t contribute to her team’s victory.

Shabnim Ismail’s incredible feat not only marks a significant milestone in women’s cricket but also serves as an inspiration to aspiring female athletes worldwide. Her dedication and passion continue to pave the way for the future of the sport.

Also, see:

Zimbabwean fast bowler Richard Ngarava joins Multan Sultans for PSL 9