Breaking News Featured News Women's Premier League

Five Franchises for the Women’s Premier League (WIPL) announced by BCCI: See all team-bid winners

The owner’s of the teams in the upcoming Women’s Indian Premier League, lately called as the Women’s Premier League, have been announced by the BCCI.

As per the BCCI, the auction-bidders that will own the five franchise teams in the inaugural edition of the Women’s Premier League are:

  1. Adani Sportsline Pvt. Ltd
  2. Indiawin Sports Pvt. Ltd
  3. Royals Challengers Sports Pvt. Ltd
  4. JSW GMR Cricket Pvt. Ltd
  5. Capri Global Holdings Pvt. Ltd

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) tweeted a tweet announcing the successful bidders for the Women’s Premier League. See the tweet below:

A detailed list of the Successful Bidders, Cities and the Bid Amounts is as follows:

Picture: BCCI/Twitter

The auction for the teams was held in Mumbai today where the winners were identified after opening the sealed bids. The auction have fetched the BCCI a record sum of INR 4669.99 crores with Adani Sportsline Pvt. Ltd fetching the maximum of 1289 crores.

Women’s Premier League- New Teams and their Owners

Adani – Ahmedabad Team – Rs. 1218 Cr
MI – Mumbai Team – Rs. 912 Cr
RCB – Bangalore Team – Rs. 910 Cr
GMR – Delhi Team – 810 Cr
Capri – Lucknow Team – 757 Cr

Total: Rs. 4669.99 Cr

Men’s IPL teams to own Women’s IPL teams:

Three of the men’s IPL teams have been successful to win the bid to own a team each in the Women’s IPL (Women’s Premier League), too. The owners of men’s IPL teams to own teams in the Women’s Premier League are:

  1. Indiawin Sports Pvt. Ltd (Mumbai Indians)
  2. Royal Challengers Sports Pvt. Ltd (Royal Challengers Bangalore)
  3. JSW GMR Cricket Pvt. Ltd (Delhi Capitals)

When will the player auction happen for the Women’s IPL?

The player auction for the Women’s IPL will be held in the first week of February with players being able to register their name for the auction till 26 January 2023. The auction purse for each franchise will be INR 12 crores (USD 1.46 million approximately).

Cities in the Women’s IPL 2023

The franchises in the 2023 edition of the Women’s IPL (Women’s Premier League) will be based on the following cities:

  1. Ahemdabad
  2. Mumbai
  3. Bengaluru
  4. Delhi
  5. Lucknow

More to follow.