Hampshire team preview for Blast T20 2019

By on July 19, 2019

Hampshire won the tournament back in 2010 and 2012. The two-time champions have made it to the semi-finals three times in the last five seasons. After a disappointing 2016 season where they finished second from bottom in their group, Hampshire turned things around in 2017 to finish third in the standings with seven wins and six defeats.

Last year, however, things did not go according to their plans and they again ended up eighth on the South Group points table with just two wins and nine losses. After losing six completed matches in a row, Hampshire defeated Gloucestershire by six wickets in their final group game.

While Liam Dawson scored the most runs (289) for them last time, Chris Wood was the team’s standout bowler with 19 wickets.

Titles: 2 (2010, 2012)

Finals Days: 7

Hampshire Squad for Vitality Blast T20 2019

Kyle Abbott, Tom Alsop, Keith Barker, Gareth Berg, Harry Came, Mason Crane, Liam Dawson, Aneurin Donald, Fidel Edwards, James Fuller, Ian Holland, Lewis McManus, Chris Morris, Sam Northeast, Felix Organ, Ajinkya Rahane, Rilee Rossouw, Ollie Soames, Ryan Stevenson, Brad Taylor, James Vince, Joe Weatherley, Brad Wheal, Chris Wood, Chris Morris.  

Overseas players: Chris Morris (South Africa).

Hampshire First Encounter

They will be playing on July 20, against Sussex, South Group

County Ground, Southampton.  

About Vitality Blast T20 2019:

The Vitality Blast 2019 will last from July 18 to September 21. This is the 17th year of the competition but only the second since its rebranding. The competition will kick start with the clash between Middlesex and Essex at the iconic Lord’s in London and will have a total of 133 matches. There will be a two-week break between the 4th quarter-final and the 1st semi-final. The Finals day, just like the last year, will comprise the semi-finals and the Final which will be played at Edgbaston in Birmingham.

The 18 first-class counties have been categorized into North and South Group for the T20 event. The league stage will see each team play against six of the other eight teams in its own group twice. The remaining two teams in the group will lock horns once, resulting in a total of 14 group games per team, out of which the top four teams will move ahead to the knockouts in the Quarter-final games.

Complete Schedule of Vitality T20 Blast 2019

Get the latest updates and News follow us on our social media channels