India New Zealand

Here is who will lead New Zealand’s T20I squad in India

Ind vs NZ T20I series: India vs New Zealand
Image: Getty

Mitchell Santer has been named as skipper for the upcoming T20I series against India and will take over the leadership duties in the cricket-loving nation. His appointment came as a result of Tim Southee’s and Kane Williamson’s unavailability, as the two are currently in Pakistan for the ODI series and have chosen not to travel.

The T20I series between India and New Zealand will begin later this month with a newcomer, Ben Lister. The 27-year-old fast bowler will make his international debut hopefully and has earlier toured India as a part of the New Zealand A squad last year. He was also named Auckland Cricket’s Men’s bowler of the year last season.

NZC’s chief selector, Gavin Larsen, on announcing Ben in the squad, said,

“Ben has made an exciting impact for Auckland early in his career in red and white-ball cricket. Since his debut in late 2017, he has been the Aces’ leading wicket-taker in T20 and List A cricket. His ability to swing the ball considerably as a left-arm is particularly exciting.

“We all felt for Ben after his tour ended the way it did last year, and it’s a testament to his work ethic that he’s been able to return to domestic cricket so strongly this season.”

On appointing Santer as the skipper, the selector urged his leadership experience back then.

“Mitch is a leader in our white-ball teams and has captained the T20 side in India [in Kolkata in 2021] before. His experience in Indian conditions will be invaluable in leading this group.”

It is pertinent to mention that Kylie Jamieson, Matt Henry, Adam Milne, and Ben Sears were unavailable for selection due to their respective injuries. Hence, NZC has named the following squad:

Mitchell Santner (capt), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Dane Cleaver, Devon Conway, Jacob Duffy, Lockie Ferguson, Ben Lister, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Michael Rippon, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner

Also, see:

Rashid Khan might choose not to play BBL