Breaking News Featured Ireland News Pakistan Series Women's T20 Cricket

Historic series win for Ireland Women in Pakistan: Won T20I Series 2-1 against Pakistan Women

Ireland Women won 3-match T20I series 2-1, against Pakistan, in Lahore, Pakistan.
Picture Credit: TheRealPCB/Twitter

The 3-match T20I series has just concluded in Lahore, Pakistan. Ireland Women have defeated Pakistan Women by 34 runs to clinch the series trophy on their name. The series was levelled after the second game as Pakistan Women got their first win in the series. Ireland Women starting the series with a win have concluded the series today with a series decider win.

In today’s series-deciding match, Ireland Women won the toss and elect to bat first. Batting first they made a strong 167/4 in the first inning. Gaby Lewis 71(46) was the high scorer for the team while batting. Amy Hunter followed Gaby with 40 runs off 35 balls. Orla Prendergast was the third high scorer for the team with 37 runs off 23 balls. While Eimear Richardson got out at a single run off 2 balls, Rebecca Stokell made 17 not-out runs playing 14 balls. Ireland Women had lost 4 wickets in the first inning.

Bowling against Ireland Women, Pakistan Women used five bowlers. Nida Dar, Nashra Sandhu and Ghulam Fatima were the only bowlers to take wickets in the game with one wicket each in their pockets. Pakistan Women conceded a single extra run to Ireland Women while bowling.

Coming to chase the target of 168 runs, Pakistan Women started the inning with Sidra Ameen and Javeria Khan. While Sidra was out for 4 runs off 8 balls, Javeria completed her half-century and was out at 50 runs off 37 balls. Muneeba Ali, Ayesha Naseem, Nida Dar, Bismah Maroof, Aliya Riaz, Fatima Sana, Aiman Anwer, Nashra Sandhu and Ghulam Fatima made 11, 5, 26, 6, 3, 14, 1, 2* and 0 runs respectively batting in the game. The team could make only 133 runs before they got summed up in 18.5 overs against the visitors.

Ireland Women utilized six bowlers in the game. Arlene Kelly and Laura Delany took 3 wickets each. Jane Maguire and Eimear Richardson joined the party with 2 and 1 wicket respectively. Ireland Women conceded 11 extras to Pakistan Women while bowling in the game.

The current visit of Ireland was the first time Ireland’s national team played in Pakistani land. And, with this series win, Ireland has registered a historic win in the land of Pakistan.

Gaby Lewis was the Player Of The Match in the last match of the series. She also remained the Player Of The Series. Ireland Women won the 3-match T20I series 2-1, against Pakistan Women.