ICC ODI CWC News ODI Cricket

ICC reveals star-studded commentary panel for World Cup 2023

ICC reveals star-studded commentary panel for World Cup 2023

The anticipation for the ICC World Cup 2023 in India is reaching a fever pitch as the International Cricket Council (ICC) unveiled its star-studded commentary panel for the upcoming tournament. Set to kick off next month, this edition of the World Cup promises an exceptional lineup of cricketing legends and seasoned broadcasters.

Notable among the commentators are Pakistan’s cricket icons Ramiz Raja and Waqar Younis, who will add their unique insights to the coverage. The ICC has spared no effort in delivering comprehensive coverage, with plans for a pre-match show, innings interval program, and post-match analysis.

Star-studded commentary panel for World Cup 2023

Adding to the star power, former Australia captain Ricky Ponting and ex-England skipper Eoin Morgan will grace the commentary box, bringing their wealth of cricketing knowledge to the global audience. They will be joined by a constellation of cricketing stars, including Shane Watson, Lisa Sthalekar, Ravi Shastri, Aaron Finch, Sunil Gavaskar, and Matthew Hayden.

The return of familiar voices will also delight fans, as Nasser Hussain, Ian Smith, and Ian Bishop make their way back to the commentary box. These renowned voices had previously lent their commentary skills to the unforgettable 2019 World Cup final between England and New Zealand.

The list of commentators extends further, with international icons and former captains such as Waqar Younis, Shaun Pollock, Anjum Chopra, and Michael Atherton providing their analysis from the commentary box. They will be joined by former international stars like Simon Doull, Mpumelelo Mbangwa, Sanjay Manjrekar, Katey Martin, Dinesh Karthik, Dirk Nannes, Samuel Badree, Athar Ali Khan, and Russel Arnold.

Completing this illustrious panel are some of the world’s leading broadcasters, known for their iconic calls, including Harsha Bhogle, Kass Naidoo, Mark Nicholas, Natalie Germanos, Mark Howard, and Ian Ward.

The ICC World Cup 2023 promises to be a thrilling spectacle, featuring 10 teams battling for the coveted title across 10 venues from October 5 to November 19. The Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad will set the stage for both the tournament opener and the final showdown.

With a round-robin format featuring all teams playing against each other in 45 league matches, the top four teams will earn their place in the semi-finals, slated for November 15 in Mumbai and November 16 in Kolkata. To ensure uninterrupted excitement, reserve days are scheduled for the semi-finals and the final, ensuring that cricket enthusiasts can revel in every moment of this prestigious tournament.

Also, see:

Where to Watch ICC Cricket World Cup 2023, List of TV Channels (Broadcasters ) and Live Streaming Details