International League T20 News

ILT20 2025: Complete list of retained players

ILT20 2025: Complete list of retained players
Image via ILT20

As the International League T20 (ILT20) gears up for its 2025 season, the franchise Desert Vipers have announced their retention list, featuring Pakistani pacer Mohammad Amir and wicketkeeper-batsman Azam Khan. This decision has stirred discussions in the cricketing circles, especially with the notable exclusions of Shaheen Shah Afridi and Shadab Khan, both of whom were part of the team in the previous season.

The Desert Vipers have shown confidence in their core group by retaining key international players, including Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, and Nicholas Pooran. Australian powerhouse David Warner is also among the retained stars, solidifying the Vipers’ lineup for the upcoming season. The franchise’s strategy reflects a focus on experienced and high-impact players to enhance their chances in the fiercely competitive league.

Each ILT20 team has the liberty to retain an unlimited number of international players, while they must also retain two UAE players. The acquisition window, open until September 15, allows teams to sign new players to complete their squads. This window is crucial for franchises to fine-tune their rosters and address any gaps identified from previous seasons. Additionally, after the ILT20 development tournament, teams will need to complete their UAE player quota, ensuring a balanced mix of local and international talent.

The ILT20 2025 season is set to run from January 11 to February 9, with matches slated to take place across Sharjah, Abu Dhabi, and Dubai. This schedule promises a thrilling cricketing extravaganza in the UAE’s iconic venues.

ILT20 2025 retained players

Beyond the Desert Vipers, other franchises have also revealed their retention lists, showcasing a blend of star power and strategic selections:

  • MI Emirates: Defending champions have retained Captain Nicholas Pooran, along with stalwarts like Dwayne Bravo, Akeal Hosein, Kieron Pollard, and Fazalhaq Farooqi. Notably, Trent Boult has not been retained, signaling a strategic shift.
  • Abu Dhabi Knight Riders: Captain Sunil Narine and Andre Russell lead a robust retention list that includes David Willey, Charith Asalanka, and USA’s Ali Khan and Andries Gous. However, Imad Wasim has not been retained.
  • Dubai Capitals: Apart from Captain David Warner, the Capitals have held onto Rovman Powell, Sam Billings, and Jake Fraser-McGurk. However, notable exclusions include England’s Joe Root and Mark Wood.
  • Gulf Giants: Shimron Hetmyer headlines the retentions, alongside Captain James Vince. However, USA’s Saurabh Netravalkar and Afghanistan’s Mujeeb Ur Rehman have not made the cut.
  • Sharjah Warriors: The Warriors have retained eight players, including Kusal Mendis, Captain Tom Kohler-Cadmore, and Johnson Charles.

Also, see:

Babar Azam to file defamation case against Pakistani journalists and ex-cricketers