Featured India News Sri Lanka

India Dominate Sri Lanka in Third T20I to Win Series

India Dominate Sri Lanka in Third T20I to Win Series
Image: twitter

In the third and deciding match of the T20I series between India and Sri Lanka, the hosts emerged victorious, defeating Sri Lanka by a commanding 91 runs. Suryakumar Yadav led the charge for India with a brilliant 112 not out, scored off just 51 balls, as the team compiled a formidable total of 228.

On the other hand, Dilshan Madushanka was the standout bowler for Sri Lanka, picking up two wickets, while Kasun Rajitha, Wanindu Hasaranga, and Chamika Karunaratne also contributed with a wicket each.

Chasing a massive target, Sri Lanka got off to a poor start with openers Patthum Nisanka and Kusal Mendis departing early. No other batsman was able to score more than 23 runs, and the team ultimately fell short, being dismissed for 137 in 16.4 overs.

From India, youngster Arshdeep Singh struck three wickets while Umran Malik, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Hardik Pandya scalped twice. Axar Patel could grab one.

With this victory, India have now set an incredible record of not losing a T20I series at home in the last four years. The team has consistently dominated in the shortest format of the game on home soil, and this series win is a testament to their dominance.

Sri Lanka will no doubt be disappointed with their performance in this series, but they can take heart from their win in the second T20I, where they managed to level the series after losing the opener by just two runs.

Overall, it was a closely contested series that saw both teams put in strong performances, but in the end, it was India who came out on top.

Also, see:

Breaking: Major shakeup in WIPL media rights auction plans