Breaking News Featured ICC WT20 Ireland News

Ireland Announced Squad For The T20 World Cup 2022

Credits: Twitter

The European nation has named their 15-player squad for the upcoming tournament on Tuesday. Skipper Andrew Balbirnie will be leading the strong Ireland squad at this year’s ICC T20 World Cup in Australia.  Shane Getkate, Graham Kennedy, and Barry McCarthy are the most prominent names to miss the cut in the final squad.

We are confident of our players: Andrew White

“One of the most considered decisions we had to make was around our spin bowling options. With George Dockrell and Gareth Delany both having an impact this summer and the variation they bring to the attack, it came down to making a choice between Simi Singh and Andy McBrine. Andy can feel very unfortunate to have missed out this time, but we believe Simi offers more variation on Australian wickets with his ability to take the ball away from both right and left-handers,” said Andrew White, Chair of National Men’s Selectors.

“We believe this is one of the strongest T20 squads we have sent to a World Cup and wish the team and coaching staff well for the tournament ahead,” he added.

Ireland T20 World Cup squad:

Andrew Balbirnie (c), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Stephen Doheny, Fionn Hand, Josh Little, Barry McCarthy, Conor Olphert, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Craig Young.

Ireland will kick-start their T20 World Cup campaign against Zimbabwe at Bellerive Oval in Hobart on 17 October. Before that fixture, however, they’ll get to play warm-up fixtures against Papua New Guinea.

Get the latest updates and News follow us on our social media channels