News Pakistan Super League

Islamabad United become three times PSL champions

Three times psl champions
Image via PSL

The curtains closed on a pulsating ninth edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL 2024) as Islamabad United edged past Multan Sultans by a mere two wickets in a nail-biting final at the National Bank Cricket Arena on March 18th. In a match that went down to the very last ball, Islamabad became three times PSL champions, solidifying their position as the most successful team in the tournament’s history.

Multan Sultans, batting first, posted a competitive total of 159/9 on the board. Usman Khan (57 off 40) and Iftikhar Ahmed (32 off 20) provided the backbone of their innings, while Islamabad’s bowling attack, spearheaded by the phenomenal Imad Wasim’s five-wicket haul, kept them in check. Shadab Khan chipped in with three wickets to further restrict the Sultans.

Chasing the target, Islamabad got off to a solid start thanks to a half-century from Martin Guptill (50 off 32). Contributions from Azam Khan (30 off 22) and a crucial cameo from Imad Wasim himself (19* off 17) kept them in contention throughout. However, Multan Sultans fought back valiantly, with Iftikhar Ahmed and Khushdil Shah taking two wickets apiece, creating a tense atmosphere.

With one run required off the last ball, the match hung in the balance. The tension was palpable as Islamabad’s Hunain Shah faced Mohammad Ali. In a moment of pure drama, Shah smashed a boundary over the bowler’s head, sending the Islamabad dugout and their fans into a frenzy. This dramatic finish secured a historic victory for Islamabad United, etching their name on the coveted PSL trophy for the third time.

This thrilling encounter served as a fitting finale to a pulsating PSL season. Islamabad United’s resilience and unwavering determination ultimately proved to be the difference maker. The victory adds another chapter to their rich PSL legacy and sets the stage for even more exciting contests in future editions of the tournament.

Also, see:

Shane Watson becomes most expensive coach in PSL history