Leicestershire Foxes team preview for Blast T20 2019

By on July 19, 2019

Having lifted the trophy back in 2004, 2006 and 2011, Leicestershire Foxes have been the most successful of all the teams in the English domestic twenty20 cricket tournaments.

They defeated Surrey in 2004 final and a couple of years later beat Nottinghamshire in the final at Trent Bridge. In 2011, they trumped Somerset by 18 runs in the final to win their third title. In the previous edition, however, the Foxes had a forgetful campaign where they ended eighth in the North Group standings with five wins and eight losses.

South African batsman Colin Ackermann, with 343 runs, was Leicestershire’s leading run-scorer last time while left-arm spinner Callum Parkinson was their best bowler with 15 wickets.

Titles: 3 (2004, 2006, 2011)

Finals Days: 5

Leicestershire Foxes Squad for Vitality Blast T20 2019

Muhammad Abbas, Colin Ackermann, Aadil Ali, Hasan Azad, Mark Cosgrove, Will Davis, Harry Dearden, Neil Dexter, Sam Evans, Gavin Griffiths, Lewis Hill, Paul Horton, Ateeq Javid, Dieter Klein, Arron Lilley, Ben Mike, Callum Parkinson, Harry Swindells, Tom Taylor, Chris Wright.  

Overseas players: None.

Leicestershire Foxes First Encounter

They will be playing on July 19, against Lancashire, North Group

Grace Road, Leicester.

About Vitality Blast T20 2019:

The Vitality Blast 2019 will last from July 18 to September 21. This is the 17th year of the competition but only the second since its rebranding. The competition will kick start with the clash between Middlesex and Essex at the iconic Lord’s in London and will have a total of 133 matches. There will be a two-week break between the 4th quarter-final and the 1st semi-final. The Finals day, just like the last year, will comprise the semi-finals and the Final which will be played at Edgbaston in Birmingham.

The 18 first-class counties have been categorized into North and South Group for the T20 event. The league stage will see each team play against six of the other eight teams in its own group twice. The remaining two teams in the group will lock horns once, resulting in a total of 14 group games per team, out of which the top four teams will move ahead to the knockouts in the Quarter-final games.

Complete Schedule of Vitality T20 Blast 2019

Get the latest updates and News follow us on our social media channels