Home of T20

An exclusive platform for T20 cricket

Marshall replaces Frylinck in Durban Heat squad

Easterns' top order batsman Wesley Marshall has been drafted into the Durban Heat side as a replacement for Rob Frylinck ahead of the 2019 Mzansi Super League starting next week. Muzi Ntombela/ Backpage Pix

Marshall replaces Frylinck in Durban Heat squad

Durban – 25 year old top-order batsman Wesley Marshall will replace Rob Frylinck in the Durban Heat squad for the upcoming Mzansi Super League after the veteran seamer was selected to play in the T10 tournament in Abu Dhabi.

Marshall replaces Frylinck in Durban Heat squad
Easterns’ top order batsman Wesley Marshall has been drafted into the Durban Heat side as a replacement for Rob Frylinck ahead of the 2019 Mzansi Super League starting next week. Muzi Ntombela/ Backpage Pix

Marshall shone in the recent CSA Provincial T20 Cup where he helped Easterns to their first triumph in the competition. The hard-hitting opener bashed 87 in the final and followed that up with some impressive scores in first class cricket, most recently a 98 in the second innings of the Momentum Multiply Titans’ clash with the VKB Knights.

Speaking from the Bloemfontein airport on Friday, Marshall knew that there was a chance he could be selected for the MSL if he put in some good performances in during the domestic T20 competition.

“When I got the call from Heinrich (Strydom) I was pretty lost for words to be honest,” Marshall said.

“During the competition talk in the change room was that if you did well and put your hand up there was always that chance that you could get that wild card position.

“I did as much as I could and wasn’t picked initially but I am unbelievably excited to be involved in the MSL and want to learn as much as I can.”

He will join a squad that includes the likes of England’s Alex Hales and Ravi Bopara, experienced South African T20 star David Miller as well as former Protea Kyle Abbott. To have players like these around him and a coach like Gary Kirsten Marshall believes he can only benefit.

“It is unbelievable to see the players that we have and to have a coach like Gary Kirsten is a dream come true.

“I cannot wait to meet up with the rest of the squad this weekend and see how we go in the competition,” Marshall added.

CEO of KZN Cricket Heinrich Strydom was disappointed to lose Frylinck but is excited about what Marshall brings to the table.

“He was one of the standout batsmen during the CSA Provincial T20 and although it’s tough losing such an experienced player in Robbie, to be able to replace him with an explosive batsman is exciting.

“We have made sure that we have all our bases covered across the pitch and Wesley will just add another exciting string to our bow.”

The Durban Heat get their Mzansi Super League campaign underway with a home game at Hollywoodbets Kingsmead Stadium against the Tshwane Spartans on Saturday, 9 November at 12:30pm.

Durban Heat Squad:
Andile Phehlukwayo, Alex Hales, David Miller (retained player), Dane Vilas, Ravi Bopara, Keshav Maharaj (retained player), Kyle Abbott (retained player), Khaya Zondo (retained player), Marco Jansen, Daryn Dupavillon, Sarel Erwee (retained player), Malusi Siboto, Prenelan Subrayen, Wihan Lubbe, Shaun von Berg, Wesley Marshall.


Saturday, November 9: 12h30, Durban Heat v Tshwane Spartans, Hollywoodbets Kingsmead Stadium
Friday, November 15: 17h30, Durban Heat v Paarl Rocks, Hollywoodbets Kingsmead Stadium
Sunday, November 17: 10h00, Durban Heat v Cape Town Blitz, Hollywoodbets Kingsmead Stadium
Thursday, November 21: 17h30, Tshwane Spartans v Durban Heat, SuperSport Park
Saturday, November 23: 12h30, Nelson Mandela Bay Giants v Durban Heat, St. George’s Park
Thursday, November 28: 17h30, Cape Town Blitz v Durban Heat, Newlands
Saturday, November 30: 12h30, Durban Heat v Nelson Mandela Bay Giants, Hollywoodbets Kingsmead Stadium
Wednesday, December 4: 17h30, Paarl Rocks v Durban Heat, Eurolux Boland Park
Saturday, December 7: 12h30, Jozi Stars v Durban Heat, Imperial Wanderers Stadium
Tuesday, December 10: 17h30, Durban Heat v Jozi Stars, Hollywoodbets Kingsmead Stadium

Friday, December 13: 17h30, Play-off, 2nd v 3rd
(reserve day if required on Saturday, December 14, 12h30)
Monday, December 16: 17h30, Final
(reserve day if required on Tuesday, December 17, 17h30)

Get the latest updates and News follow us on our social media channels