Moeen Ali joins Cape Town Blitz in MSL

Moeen Ali joins Cape Town Blitz in MSL

England all-rounder Moeen Ali is on his way to the Cape Town Blitz for the opening of the Mzansi Super League as a replacement for Pakistan international seamer Wahab Riaz, who will join the Cape Town Blitz at the conclusion of his international commitments.

Ali will be available for the Blitz’ two opening matches against the Jozi Stars in Johannesburg on 8 November and two days later in Paarl against Paarl Rocks.

Cape Town Blitz head coach Ashwell Prince is looking forward to Ali bringing all his experience to the squad.

“Moeen brings huge international experience to the team and in County cricket, he won the T20 Blast in 2018 with Worcestershire Rapids and he led them to 2019 final, so we’re looking forward to having him in Cape Town,” Prince said.

He is no stranger to the shores of the Mother City as he has had previous stints with St Augustine Cricket Club in the Western Province club league.

“I’m very excited to be part of the MSL and joining Cape Town Blitz for the start of the tournament. I’m looking forward to playing with and against some world-class players,” Ali said.

Cape Town Blitz CEO Nabeel Dien expressed his excitement about Ali returning to a city he is familiar with.

“Moeen Ali is a great acquisition for us, he has an affinity to Cape Town and club cricket in the Province going back a number of years. We’re looking forward to having a player of his quality for the start of the tournament,” Mr. Dien said.

Riaz will be available for selection for the first home game of the competition against Jozi Stars on 14 November.

Get the latest updates and News follow us on our social media channels




Most Runs (T20s)

1Chris Gayle13296
2Kieron Pollard9966
3Brendon McCullum9922
4Shoaib Malik9653
5David Warner9090

Most Wickets (T20s)

1Dwayne Bravo495
2Lasith Malinga389
3Sunil Narine379
4Imran Tahir355
5Shakib Al Hasan354
6Sohail Tanveer340

Most Runs (T20Is)

1Virat KohliIND2794
2Rohit SharmaIND2773
3Martin GuptillNZ2536
4Shoaib MalikPAK2321
5Brendon McCullumNZ2140

Most Wickets (T20Is)

1Lasith MalangaSL106
2Shahid AfridiPAK98
3Shakib Al HasanBAN92
4Umar GulPAK85
5Saeed AjmalPAK85

Term of Use

Privacy Policy


Copyright © 2016-2020 Home Of T20.

Ads Banner

Social Profile