Nelson Mandela Bay ready to welcome MSL 2.0 fans

Nelson Mandela Bay Giants Squad

The Nelson Mandela Bay Metropolitan Municipality Executive Mayor, Cllr. Mongameni Bobani, announced today that the Friendly City is ready to welcome fans ahead of the Mzansi Super League (MSL) 2.0 tournament set to start on 8 November with the grand final slated for 16 December 2019.

Cllr. Bobani made this remark from the Council Chambers, in Port Elizabeth, during a visit by Cricket South Africa (CSA) and the Nelson Mandela Bay Giants, during which the Mayor was presented with a framed jersey of the Giants, by both CSA’s Thamsanqa Mthembu and the Giants’ President, Donovan May.

“This message comes from 120 councillors who represent the only city in the Eastern Cape that has a team playing in this MSL2.0, the only city in the world that was named after our world icon (struggle activist and South Africa’s first democratic President), Dr Nelson Mandela,” he said.

“The Giants are here and they carry the hopes of the city. We are saying to the team: let us keep the cup right here in our municipality.”

Tickets are on sale at R60 per ticket and are available across TicketPro and other retail outlets, including online sales at Further information on the tournament is available on

The first match in the friendly city will see the Giants hosting the defending champions, the Jozi Stars, at St George’s Park on Sunday, 10 November, with the match starting at 2pm.

Forming part of the team, under returning coach Eric Simons will be star players such as Chris Morris, opening batsman Jason Roy, fast bowler Junior Dala, as well as veteran spinner Imran Tahir, who were all retained from last season.

The Giants also snapped up Farhaan Behardien at the Player Draft with the batsman having featured for Cape Town Blitz last year.

May said: “We are quite excited about the tournament and hope that the stadium will be full, with people coming to see the Giants play. We have a very good team and we will give the defending champions (Jozi Stars) a run for their money. Coming from the first season, we have a management team that has been working around the clock to get the team ready for the second season.”

Get the latest updates and News follow us on our social media channels




Most Runs (T20s)

1Chris Gayle13296
2Kieron Pollard9966
3Brendon McCullum9922
4Shoaib Malik9653
5David Warner9090

Most Wickets (T20s)

1Dwayne Bravo495
2Lasith Malinga389
3Sunil Narine379
4Imran Tahir355
5Shakib Al Hasan354
6Sohail Tanveer340

Most Runs (T20Is)

1Virat KohliIND2794
2Rohit SharmaIND2773
3Martin GuptillNZ2536
4Shoaib MalikPAK2321
5Brendon McCullumNZ2140

Most Wickets (T20Is)

1Lasith MalangaSL106
2Shahid AfridiPAK98
3Shakib Al HasanBAN92
4Umar GulPAK85
5Saeed AjmalPAK85

Term of Use

Privacy Policy


Copyright © 2016-2020 Home Of T20.

Ads Banner

Social Profile