Northamptonshire Steelbacks team preview for Blast T20 2019

By on July 19, 2019

Northamptonshire Steelbacks won the tournament in the 2013 and 2016 seasons. The two-time champions came runners-up in 2015 when they lost to Lancashire Lightning by 13 runs in the final.

They have failed to qualify for the knockout round in their previous two attempts – they came sixth in 2017 with six wins and five defeats and finished at the bottom last year with just two wins from fourteen matches.

Northamptonshire played their last group game against Leicestershire in Leicester where they secured a four-wicket win. Josh Cobb, who scored 448 runs last time, was the most impressive of all their batsmen. The Steelbacks, however, had an ordinary tournament with the ball.

Titles: 3 (2004, 2006, 2011)

Finals Days: 5

Northamptonshire Steelbacks Squad for Vitality Blast T20 2019

Alex Wakely, Josh Cobb, Rob Newton, Nathan Buck, Ben Curran, Brett Hutton, Rob Keogh, Richard Levi, Blessing Muzarabani, Luke Proctor, Adam Rossington, Ben Sanderson, Tom Sole, Charlie Thurston, Ricardo Vasconcelos, Graeme White, Jack White, Saif Zaib, Dwaine Pretorius.  

Overseas players: None.

Northamptonshire Steelbacks First Encounter

They will be playing on July 19, against Durham, North Group

Riverside Ground, Chester-le-Street.

About Vitality Blast T20 2019:

The Vitality Blast 2019 will last from July 18 to September 21. This is the 17th year of the competition but only the second since its rebranding. The competition will kick start with the clash between Middlesex and Essex at the iconic Lord’s in London and will have a total of 133 matches. There will be a two-week break between the 4th quarter-final and the 1st semi-final. The Finals day, just like the last year, will comprise the semi-finals and the Final which will be played at Edgbaston in Birmingham.

The 18 first-class counties have been categorized into North and South Group for the T20 event. The league stage will see each team play against six of the other eight teams in its own group twice. The remaining two teams in the group will lock horns once, resulting in a total of 14 group games per team, out of which the top four teams will move ahead to the knockouts in the Quarter-final games.

Complete Schedule of Vitality T20 Blast 2019

Get the latest updates and News follow us on our social media channels