Pakistan eke out win over New Zealand in the first T20I

Pakistan win over New Zealand

Pacer Hasan Ali and right-handed batsman Mohammad Hafeez helped Pakistan beat New Zealand in the first T20I by 2 runs to take a 1-0 lead in the three-match series.

The day started with the Pakistan captain Sarfaraz Ahmed winning the toss and electing to bat first in the series opener.

Hosts get off to worse possible start as they lost in-form Babar Azam at the score of just 8 in the second over. Sahibzada Farhan also perished soon after to see Pakistan lose their openers inside three overs.

A 67-run partnership between Asif Ali and Mohammad put Pakistan right on track to register a decent score on the board. The visitors bowled well and did not allow Pakistan to get away with easy runs.

The star of the show for New Zealand was pacer Adam Milne, who claimed figures of two for 28 in his four overs. He was well supported by spin duo of Ish Sodhi and Ajaz Patel, who picked one wicket apiece.

For Pakistan, Mohammad Hafeez was the standout performer as scored 45 off 36 balls with the help of five fours and two sixes. He was well-supported by Captain Sarfaraz Ahmed who scored 34 off 26 balls with the help of three fours and a six.

In reply, New Zealand had a flying start, courtesy Colin Munro’s quick-fire 58 off just 42 balls with the help of six fours and three sixes. Kane Williamson and Glenn Phillips got good starts and failed to kick on to get a big score.

But once Munro departed, it was a Ross Taylor as produced a valiant effort with the bat to see New Zealand take the game till the final over. Taylor remained 42 not out off just 26 balls with the help of three overs. It proved to not enough as the rest of batting lineup failed to provide support to Taylor to see Pakistan win the game by 2 runs.

For Pakistan, pacer Hasan Ali was the only successful bowler as he claimed figures of three for 35. Mohammad Hafeez was named man of the match for his superb batting performance.

Get the latest updates and News follow us on our social media channels




Most Runs (T20s)

1Chris Gayle13296
2Kieron Pollard9966
3Brendon McCullum9922
4Shoaib Malik9653
5David Warner9090

Most Wickets (T20s)

1Dwayne Bravo495
2Lasith Malinga389
3Sunil Narine379
4Imran Tahir355
5Shakib Al Hasan354
6Sohail Tanveer340

Most Runs (T20Is)

1Virat KohliIND2794
2Rohit SharmaIND2773
3Martin GuptillNZ2536
4Shoaib MalikPAK2321
5Brendon McCullumNZ2140

Most Wickets (T20Is)

1Lasith MalangaSL106
2Shahid AfridiPAK98
3Shakib Al HasanBAN92
4Umar GulPAK85
5Saeed AjmalPAK85

Term of Use

Privacy Policy


Copyright © 2016-2020 Home Of T20.

Ads Banner

Social Profile