ICC ODI CWC News ODI Cricket

Pat Cummins makes the Indian crowd silence as promised as Australia win 6th ODI World Cup trophy

In a stunning display of cricketing prowess, Australia etched their name into the record books once again, clinching their sixth ODI World Cup trophy by emerging victorious in the World Cup 2023 final against India at Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium. This triumph adds to Australia’s previous World Cup victories in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2015, solidifying their reputation as a cricketing powerhouse.

India, vying for their third World Cup trophy, faced a disappointing defeat, extending their ICC trophy drought since 2013. Despite an unbeaten run throughout the group stage and winning all nine games, India fell short in the final showdown.

The journey to the final saw India defeating New Zealand in the first semifinal, securing their place as the first team to qualify. Australia, on the other hand, overcame South Africa in the second semifinal to set the stage for an epic final clash.

The rivalry between India and Australia reached its peak in the World Cup 2023, with both teams exchanging blows in a group stage encounter. Australia sought revenge for their earlier defeat, and Pat Cummins, expressing his determination, aimed to silence the 1.3 lakh-strong crowd. His words turned into reality as Australia won the toss and chose to field.

India managed to post a total of 240 runs before being bowled out on the last ball. KL Rahul led the batting charge with 66 off 107, supported by Virat Kohli’s 54 off 63 and Rohit Sharma’s brisk 47 off 31. Mitchell Starc, with figures of 3/55, and two wickets each from Cummins and Josh Hazlewood restricted India’s run flow.

Australia’s chase unfolded with Travis Head’s heroic 137, steering the team towards the target. Marnus Labuschagne played a patient inning of 58 off 110, contributing to the steady progress. Despite the challenge posed by India’s total, the Australians managed to secure victory in 43 overs with six wickets in hand.

A pivotal moment came with Mohammad Siraj’s delivery to Glenn Maxwell, who, in a nerve-wracking play, added the winning two runs by pulling it wide of deep square leg. Kuldeep Yadav’s valiant effort to stop the ball with a dive proved futile as the batters completed the crucial winning runs. AUSTRALIA CELEBRATE!

Also, see:

World Cup 2023: Adam Zampa equalled this record of Muttiah Muralitharan