Pakistan Super League

PSL 8 Trophy Unveiled, Here is How it Looks Like

Image: PCB

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has introduced the trophy for the 8th edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL 8 trophy) in Lahore. The unveiling took place at the historic Shalimar Gardens, with Najam Sethi, the PCB Management Committee Chairman, in attendance, along with franchise owners and top cricketers.

According to a press release from the PCB, the 24-karat Supernova Trophy is a symbol of the national cricket team’s motto, artistry, recognition and prestige. Made in Pakistan, the trophy showcases the country’s skilled craftsmanship and the PCB’s commitment to supporting local businesses. The three pillars of the trophy, which are studded with 9,907 shining zircon stones, embody the team’s motto: Unity, Passion, and Strength, while the main pillar at the back is further adorned with crystals, symbolizing the hard work and dedication put into achieving the team’s success.

The PSL 8 will kick off on February 13 in Multan with a match between the 2021 winners Multan Sultans and the defending champions Lahore Qalandars. The tournament will be held in two legs, with the first taking place in Multan Cricket Stadium and Karachi’s National Bank Cricket Arena from February 13-26, followed by the second leg in Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium and Pindi Cricket Stadium in Rawalpindi from February 26 to March 19. The closing ceremony and final will take place on March 19 in Lahore.

Lahore Qalandars will aim to become the first team to win back-to-back titles, while Islamabad United will strive to become the most successful side by winning the trophy for the third time. Only Multan Sultans and Peshawar Zalmi have reached the final as defending champions, while the other teams are yet to achieve this feat. Rawalpindi will host 11 matches, while Karachi and Lahore will host nine matches each, and Multan will host five games.

Also, see:

All You Need to Know About PSL 8 Opening Ceremony