News Pakistan Pakistan Super League

PSL 9 Match Officials Announced: Elite Umpires and Experienced Match Referees to Oversee the Action

PSL 9 Match Officials Announced - Umpires - Match Referees
Credit: PCB

Get ready for cricket fever! The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has revealed the match officials for HBL Pakistan Super League 9, promising a thrilling season with top-notch officiating. Buckle up for 34 action-packed matches across four venues from February 17th to March 18th.

Elite Umpires Take Center Stage:

Four members of the prestigious ICC Elite Panel will grace the field:

  • Richard Illingworth (England): A seasoned veteran with 48 HBL PSL matches under his belt.
  • Chris Gaffaney (New Zealand): Makes his league debut, officiating the Multan Sultans vs. Karachi Kings match on February 18th.
  • Ahsan Raza (Pakistan): Brings his expertise to the league once again.
  • Michael Gough (England): Returns for his fifth HBL PSL season.

Experienced Umpires Join the Force:

Renowned Pakistani umpires like Abdul Moqeet, Aleem Dar, and Shozab Raza will ensure fair play alongside international talents like Ruchira Palliyaguruge (Sri Lanka) and Alex Wharf (England).

Roshan Mahanama Leads Match Referees:

The former ICC Elite Panel member will lead a team of three experienced match referees, including Ali Naqvi and Muhammad Javed, to ensure the smooth running of the tournament.

Opening Match Officials Announced:

The much-anticipated opening match between defending champions Lahore Qalandars and Islamabad United will be officiated by veteran umpires Aleem Dar and Michael Gough on the field. Tariq Rasheed will be the TV Umpire, with Shozab Raza as the reserve umpire. Muhammad Javed will be the match referee.

Mark Your Calendars:

The action kicks off on February 17th at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore, with the final scheduled for March 18th in Karachi. Don’t miss out on witnessing these skilled officials uphold the spirit of the game and contribute to a thrilling HBL PSL 9!