Bangladesh Premier League

Rangpur Riders Team Strengths and Eye on its Key Players

The RANGPUR RIDERS is a franchise cricket team based in Rangpur, Bangladesh. The team competes in Bangladeshi Twenty20 cricket competition Bangladesh Premier League. Rangpur Stadium serves as the home ground for the team. The team was founded in 2012 and made its first appearance during the second season of the 2013 Bangladesh Premier League as the seventh team in the tournament. In beginning of season 4, the owner of Rangpur Riders i-Sports sold its franchise to Sohana Group.

The Riders are coached by former Bangladesh National Cricket Team player Javed Omar who is replacing the previous coach Shane Jurgensen, and led by Pakistani legendary all-rounder Shahid Afridi. Previously selected Icon player Shakib Al Hasan is not playing for Rangpur Riders in season 4, instead Soumya Sarkar has been picked as the new icon player.

Rangpur Riders has some crowd pullers in their squad, why not to look at their key players.

Sea also: Full Squad 

Key Players of Riders for this year’s edition are:

Shahid Afridi, Nasir Jamshed, Babar Azam, Mohammad Shahzad, Sachithra Senanayake (Overseas Players)

Soumya Sarkar, Rubel Hossain, Mohammad Mithun, Arafat Sunny (Local players)


Shahid Afridi


Shahid Afridi, is leading the side. After all of his experiences playing almost in every country of the world. He played for Pakistan for the almost 20 years. He hold the World’s Fastest 100 in ODI cricket for the most of times of his career. It will be great news for Riders fans that he will be leading the side. As everyone knows he is a crowd puller, whether he performs or not but crowd is always there to see him. Nevertheless he is the match winner on his day.  Riders & his fans are looking forward to see him bat & bowl again after sometime.

Nasir Jamshed


Nasir Jamshed, is a left hand batsman from Pakistan. He played lots of cricket here in Bangladesh, He also played at Dhaka Premier League as well. He is a dangerous customer when he is on song. Riders will hope that he will perform well for them at top-order.


Babar Azam, might not be part of most part of their campaign, but he is a nice addition to top order of any team. Babar Azam recently played some extra-ordinary cricket against England and than West Indies at UAE. Through his unstoppable performances gave him a call-up to Test Cricket for his national side. He is also selected for New Zealand tour.


Mohammad Shahzad made his name by his own style of playing cricket. He is hard hitter at top-order and also keeps wickets for the team as well. Hails from Afghanistan a wonderful character. Team like Riders requires players like him in the squad.

Sachithra Senanayake


Sachithra Senanayake is a spin bowler, along with Afridi he is handy bowler. He can bowl well and can bat as well. Riders are hopeful that he can blossom for them. This Sri Lankan can deceive  any batsman in the world through his variations while bowling spin. He will definately help captain and team in both bat & bowl.


Soumya Sarkar One of the most destructive player for Bangladesh, this year he will represent Riders as an icon player, which is a great news for him and his supporters. Looking forward to his individual performances in this year’s edition.

Rubel Hossain is rated himself a spearhead for Bangladesh and will be playing for Riders this year. He will definitely opens the bowl for Riders. He will be the key to success for Riders.


Mohammad Mithun, is a wicket-keeper batsman, who can help selectors and captain of Riders to select internationals accordingly, If they want to rest Mohamamd Shahzad in any match or rotating players around. he is also do some extra-ordinary batting as well at domestic level.


Arafat Sunny is a class act while bowling left arm spin. He is handy one for any team and that is why picked up by Riders in their squad. He is best in the middle overs, can also be used inside Power Play.


Other Notable players are Elias Sunny, RJ Gleeson, Jupiter Ghosh, Mehrab Hossain, Muktar Ali, Naeem Islam, GD Pope, Sharjeel Khan and others.

They will be starting their campaign against Khulna Titans on 4th of November 2016 (Today).

See also: Complete Schedule 

HomeofT20 playing eleven for Rangpur Riders:

Nasir Jamshed, Soumya Sarkar, Shahid Afridi*, Arafat Sunny, Elias Sunny,  Jupiter Ghosh, Mehrab Hossain, Mohammad Mithun, Mohammad Shahzad†, Rubel Hossain, Senanayake. 

Post Comment