Caribbean Premier League

Shoaib Malik has been named the captain of Guyana Amazon Warriors

The 2018 CPL season will commence on August 8 and will run to September 17. Guyana Amazon Warriors announced their captain for the league will be Pakistan’s premier all-rounder Shoaib Malik. Malik has an expertise of 39 games with Barbados Tridents in CPL will definitely help Warriors in the upcoming season.

Guyana Amazon Warriors will start their campaign with a hometown clash on August 9 against St Kitts and Nevis Patriots.

A delighted Malik stated:

“Over the last few seasons, I really enjoyed my time with the Hero CPL as a player with the Barbados Tridents and now I look forward with great pride to captain the Guyana Amazon Warriors in this year’s tournament. The Amazon Warriors have really done well over the years and I hope that being part of a really impressive team means we will challenge for the title at the end of the season.”

Guyana Amazon Warriors head coach Johan Botha:

 “It’s great to have the experience of Shoaib leading us this year. He is a very calm leader which will be great in pressure situations on the field. I worked with him earlier this year in the Pakistan Super League so we come into the CPL and the Guyana Amazon Warriors team with a good working relationship and understanding of each other.”

Guyana Amazon Warriors Squad: 

Shoaib Malik (c), Sohail Tanvir, Chadwick Walton (wk), Cameron Delport, Rayad Emrit, Imran Tahir, Jason Mohammed, Luke Ronchi (wk), Veerasammy Permaul, Roshon Primus, Shimron Hetmyer, Devendra Bishoo, Gajanand Singh, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd, Keemo Paul, Saurabh Netravalkar and Akshaya Persaud