ICC WT20 News Pakistan

Shoaib Malik replaced Maqsood; T20 World Cup

Pakistan Cricket Board recently made final changes in the squad. In place of Azam Khan and Mohammad Hasnain, Sarfaraz Ahmed and Haider Ali were named to the 15-man national squad. Apart from these, Fakhar Zaman, who was in the travelling reserve, has been replaced by Khusdil Shah in the 15-man squad. Meanwhile, Sohaib Maqsood’s inclusion would be based on the medical advises.

On 9th October,2021 PCB announced that, due to a lower back injury, Sohaib Maqsood has been ruled out of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup and has been replaced by Shoaib Malik. Sohaib had MRI scans for his lower back on Thursday after injuring himself during the match on 6th October, against Nothern.

PCB chief selector, Muhammad Wasim in the official release:

“Sohaib is devastated to miss out on the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup as he had worked hard for this event and was in sparkling form. We feel for him but injuries are part and parcel of the sport. I am sure after undergoing rehabilitation, he’ll fully recover to be available for future assignments. In his place and following discussions with the team management, we have decided to include Shoaib Malik in the side. I am sure Shoaib’s (Malik) experience will be handy for the entire squad,”

Malik was the captain of the Pakistan national cricket team from 2007 to 2009. On 2 July 2018, he became the first male cricketer to play 100 T20Is. He recently became the third player to go past 11,000 runs in T20 cricket.

The Pakistan squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 will depart for Dubai, United Arab Emirates, on 15 October. Pakistan will play their first match against the arch rival, India, on 24th October,2021.

Pakistan 15-member National squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2021:

Babar Azam (Captain)
Shadab Khan (Vice-Captain)
Asif Ali
Fakhar Zaman
Haider Ali
Haris Rauf
Hasan Ali
Imad Wasim
Mohammad Hafeez
Muhammad Nawaz
Mohammad Rizwan (Wicketkeeper)
Muhammad Wasim Jr.
Sarfaraz Ahmed (Wicketkeeper)
Shaheen Shah Afridi
Shoaib Malik

Travelling Reserves:

Khusdal Shah, Shahnawaz Dhani and Usman Qadir.