News Sri Lanka

SLC names preliminary squads for Zimbabwe white-ball series

Image via ICC

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has unveiled the preliminary squads for the upcoming One-Day Internationals (ODIs) and Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is) against Zimbabwe, marking Sri Lanka’s return to action since the 2023 World Cup. The teams are set to clash in a series consisting of three ODIs followed by an equal number of T20Is.

The preliminary T20I squad will be led by Wanindu Hasaranga, who also serves as the vice-captain for the ODI squad. In the ODI squad, the captaincy responsibility falls on Kusal Mendis, supported by vice-captain Charith Asalanka. The squad includes notable names such as Avishka Fernando, Dasun Shanaka, and the experienced Angelo Mathews. The T20I squad, under the leadership of Wanindu Hasaranga, features a blend of youth and experience, with players like Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, and the explosive Bhanuka Rajapaksa.

Both squads include promising talents like Maheesh Theekshana, Kamindu Mendis, and Pathum Nissanka, showcasing Sri Lanka’s commitment to nurturing young cricketers. The squads comprise 22 players for T20Is and 21 for ODIs, with the final playing XI to be determined from these preliminary selections.

Sri Lanka’s preliminary ODI squad: Kusal Mendis (C), Charith Asalanka (VC), Pathum Nissanka, Avishka Fernando, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Sahan Arachchige, Nuwanidu Fernando, Dasun Shanaka, Kamindu Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Janith Liyanage, Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Dilshan Madushanka, Dushmantha Chameera, Dunith Wellalage, Pramod Madushan, Asitha Fernando, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay, Chamika Gunasekera

Sri Lanka’s preliminary T20I squad: Wanindu Hasaranga (C), Charith Asalanka (VC), Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dasun Shanaka, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Maheesh Theekshana, Kusal Janith Perera, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Kamindu Mendis, Dunith Wellalage, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Dilshan Madushanka, Binura Fernando, Nuwan Thushara, Pramod Madushan, Matheesha Pathirana

Also, see:

Big blow to Mumbai Indians ahead of IPL 2024