Somerset team preview for Blast T20 2019

Somerset team preview for Blast T20 2019

Somerset is the former champions having won the tournament back in 2005. They are also three-time runners-up having reached the finals in three consecutive seasons from 2009-2011. After a poor showing in 2016, Somerset came back strongly the following year to advance through to the knockouts after finishing fourth in the standings.

The previous season was even better for them as they topped their group standings after winning ten and losing four matches. They beat Nottinghamshire by 19 runs in the quarter-final before facing a 35-run defeat at the hands of Sussex in the semi-final.

Somerset’s Corey Anderson was one of the tournament’s best batsmen last time with 514 runs while Jamie Overton and Jerome Taylor finished among the top five bowlers with 24 and 22 wickets respectively.

Titles: 1 (2005)

Finals Days: 6

Somerset Squad for Vitality Blast T20 2019

Tom Abell, Azhar Ali, Babar Azam, Tom Banton, George Bartlett, Dom Bess, Jack Brooks, Eddie Byrom, Jash Davey, Steven Davies, Nathan Gilchrist, Ben Green, Lewis Gregory, Tim Groenewald, James Hildreth, Tom Lammonby, Jack Leach, Craig Overton, Jamie Overton, Tim Rouse, Ollie Sale, Jerome Taylor, Peter Trego, Marcus Trescothick, Roelof van der Merwe, Paul Van Meekeren, Max Waller.  

Overseas players: Jerome Taylor (West Indies), Babar Azam (Pakistan).

Somerset First Encounter

They will be playing on July 18, against Glamorgan, South Group

Sophia Gardens, Cardiff

About Vitality Blast T20 2019:

The Vitality Blast 2019 will last from July 18 to September 21. This is the 17th year of the competition but only the second since its rebranding. The competition will kick start with the clash between Middlesex and Essex at the iconic Lord’s in London and will have a total of 133 matches. There will be a two-week break between the 4th quarter-final and the 1st semi-final. The Finals day, just like the last year, will comprise the semi-finals and the Final which will be played at Edgbaston in Birmingham.

The 18 first-class counties have been categorized into North and South Group for the T20 event. The league stage will see each team play against six of the other eight teams in its own group twice. The remaining two teams in the group will lock horns once, resulting in a total of 14 group games per team, out of which the top four teams will move ahead to the knockouts in the Quarter-final games.

Complete Schedule of Vitality T20 Blast 2019

Get the latest updates and News follow us on our social media channels




Most Runs (T20s)

1Chris Gayle13296
2Kieron Pollard9966
3Brendon McCullum9922
4Shoaib Malik9653
5David Warner9090

Most Wickets (T20s)

1Dwayne Bravo495
2Lasith Malinga389
3Sunil Narine379
4Imran Tahir355
5Shakib Al Hasan354
6Sohail Tanveer340

Most Runs (T20Is)

1Virat KohliIND2745
2Rohit SharmaIND2648
3Martin GuptillNZ2499
4Shoaib MalikPAK2321
5Brendon McCullumNZ2140

Most Wickets (T20Is)

1Lasith MalangaSL106
2Shahid AfridiPAK98
3Shakib Al HasanBAN92
4Umar GulPAK85
5Saeed AjmalPAK85

Term of Use

Privacy Policy


Copyright © 2016-2020 Home Of T20.

Ads Banner

Social Profile