Home of T20

An exclusive platform for T20 cricket

Sony Sports India to broadcast Lanka Premier League

Sony Sports India to broadcast Lanka Premier League

Sony Sports India has bagged the rights to broadcast the Lankan Premier League (LPL) T20 Tournament set to kickoff later this month.

In response to a question raised on Twitter, Sony Sports India confirmed that it will be broadcasting the tournament on its channel

Sony Sports & Sony Ten will broadcast the league in India. It is worth noting that Sony Pictures Network (SPN) is also the rights holder for Sri Lanka Cricket for next 3 years.

Other than Sony Sports, Sky Sports has acquired the rights for the UK territory. Organizers are also in talks to sell rights of LPL 2020 in various other territories.

The LPL will be held from 27th November -17th December 2020.

All matches will be played at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium in Hambantota. The Health Ministry finally gave its approval only on 5th November for the tournament to be hosted in Sri Lanka following multiple meetings with relevant officials.

The LPL will be held under strict health guidelines and under a bio-secure bubble, due to the prevalent coronavirus outbreak in the country.

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has rescheduled the Lankan Premier League (LPL) 2020. The T20 league will now begin from November 27 to December 17, 2020 and will only be played at the MRICS, Hambantota, according to the Hindustan Times report.

LPL was earlier scheduled to begin from November 21, however, after a string of meeting between Sri Lanka Cricket and the health ministry, it was decided to revise the schedule and venue.

Get the latest updates and News follow us on our social media channels