Caribbean Premier League West Indies

Spinners spin web as Saint Lucia Kings defeat Trinbago Knight Riders

Spinners spin web as Saint Lucia Kings defeat Trinbago Knight Riders
Credit: Getty for CPL

Saint Lucia Kings won their second CPL match of 2023, defeating Trinbago Knight Riders by 54 runs.

The Knight Riders won the toss and chose to field, but the Saint Lucia Kings scored a strong 167/5 thanks to Faf du Plessis and Sikandar Raza.

The Knight Riders started their chase well, but they lost wickets at regular intervals to the spin bowling of Khary Pierre, Roston Chase, and Sikandar Raza. The Knight Riders were bowled out for 113, falling 54 runs short of the target.

The Knight Riders lost early wickets in their chase, with Martin Guptill, Chadwick Walton, and Nicholas Pooran all dismissed in the powerplay.

Captain Kieron Pollard provided a late cameo, scoring 34 off 15 balls, but it wasn’t enough to prevent the Knight Riders from being bowled out for 113.

Khary Pierre was the pick of the bowlers for the Saint Lucia Kings, taking four wickets for 20 runs.

Earlier, Faf du Plessis and Johnson Charles put on an 85-run opening partnership for the Saint Lucia Kings.

Du Plessis scored 57 off 36 balls before being dismissed by Andre Russell. Sikandar Raza then led a counter-attack, scoring 32 runs off 23 balls.

Dwayne Bravo and Ali Khan bowled superbly at the end of the innings, conceding just 11 runs and taking three wickets across the final two overs.

Brief Scorecard of Saint Lucia Kings vs. Trinbago Knight Riders Match 9 in CPL 2023

Saint Lucia Kings 167/5 (du Plessis 57, Charles 37; Russell 2/28, Bravo 2/31)

Trinbago Knight Riders 113 all out (Pollard 34, Deyal 33; Pierre 4/20, Chase 2/13)

Result: Saint Lucia Kings won by 54 runs.

Player of the Match – Sikandar Raza 32(23) and 2/31