Indian Premier League News

Sunrisers Hyderabad or Kolkata Knight Riders – Which team has most IPL trophies?

Sunrisers Hyderabad or Kolkata Knight Riders - Which team has most IPL trophies?
Image via Getty

As the anticipation builds for the IPL 2024 final, cricket enthusiasts around the globe are gearing up for an electrifying clash between the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) and the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) on May 26th. This historic match marks the first time these two formidable teams will meet each other in the IPL final, adding an extra layer of excitement to the already pulsating atmosphere of the tournament.

The Kolkata Knight Riders have a storied history in the IPL, having reached the final on three previous occasions. They lifted the trophy twice, in 2012 and 2014, showcasing their resilience and strategic prowess. Their triumphs were marked by memorable performances, including their victory over the Chennai Super Kings by five wickets in Chennai in 2012 and their nail-biting three-wicket win against Kings XI Punjab in Bangalore in 2014. The Knight Riders also reached the final in 2021 but fell short against the Chennai Super Kings in Dubai.

Sunrisers Hyderabad, on the other hand, have made it to the IPL final twice. They tasted victory in 2016, securing their first title with a thrilling eight-run win over the Royal Challengers Bangalore in Bangalore. In 2018, they reached the final again but were outclassed by the Chennai Super Kings, who won by eight wickets in Mumbai.

Most IPL trophies for SRH and KKR

A look at the past finals shows the intense competition and high stakes of the IPL:

  • 2021: Chennai Super Kings defeated Kolkata Knight Riders by 27 runs in Dubai.
  • 2018: Chennai Super Kings triumphed over Sunrisers Hyderabad by 8 wickets in Mumbai.
  • 2016: Sunrisers Hyderabad won against Royal Challengers Bangalore by 8 runs in Bangalore.
  • 2014: Kolkata Knight Riders won against Kings XI Punjab by 3 wickets in Bangalore.
  • 2012: Kolkata Knight Riders defeated Chennai Super Kings by 5 wickets in Chennai.

In the annals of IPL history, the Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings stand out as the most successful teams, each boasting five titles. After these two giants, KKR is the only team with more than one title, making their pursuit of a third championship a significant storyline. On the flip side, SRH will be eager to even the score and join KKR with two titles each.

This year’s final not only offers a chance for KKR to potentially add a third trophy to their cabinet but also presents an opportunity for SRH to solidify their status as one of the elite teams in the IPL. The outcome will significantly impact the historical standings of the league, especially as the defending champions, Chennai Super Kings, and the dominant Mumbai Indians, have set a high bar with their five-title hauls.

Adding to the intrigue are the newer teams like the Lucknow Super Giants and Gujarat Titans, introduced in the 2022 season. While the Gujarat Titans made an immediate impact by winning the title in their debut season, the Lucknow Super Giants are still in pursuit of their first championship.

As the Sunrisers Hyderabad and Kolkata Knight Riders prepare to face off in the final, cricket fans are bracing for a high-stakes showdown. Will KKR secure their third IPL title and further cement their legacy, or will SRH claim their second trophy and equalize the championship tally? This eagerly awaited match promises to be a spectacular conclusion to another thrilling season of the Indian Premier League.

Also, see:

ICC TV to Provide Comprehensive Coverage of ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024