South Africa South Africa T20 League

Sunrisers Soar to Back-to-Back SA20 Glory

Sunrisers Soar to Back-to-Back SA20 Glory
Credit: SA20

The Sunrisers Eastern Cape solidified their reign in the SA20, clinching their second consecutive championship with a dominant 89-run victory over Durban’s Super Giants in a thrilling final at Newlands.

Batting Blitz Sets the Stage:

After electing to bat, the Sunrisers posted a formidable 204/3, powered by half-centuries from Tom Abell (55) and Tristan Stubbs (56*). Crucial partnerships, including a 90-run stand between Abell and Jordan Hermann, laid the foundation for a late onslaught by Markram and Stubbs.

Super Giants Stumble Early:

Durban’s chase faltered from the start, losing key wickets cheaply. Marco Jansen delivered a double blow in the fourth over, dismissing Jon-Jon Smuts and Bhanuka Rajapaksa to leave the Super Giants reeling at 7/3.

Baartman Seals the Deal:

The turning point arrived when Ottniel Baartman removed the dangerous Heinrich Klaasen with a first-ball dismissal. This swung the momentum decisively in the Sunrisers’ favor, paving the way for Jansen to claim a five-wicket haul and secure the emphatic victory.

Back-to-Back Champs:

This triumph marks a remarkable achievement for the Sunrisers, solidifying their dominance in the young T20 league. Captain Aiden Markram praised his team’s cohesive performance and fighting spirit, highlighting their ability to adapt and deliver under pressure.

Individual Accolades:

The victory was complemented by individual accolades for the Sunrisers. Marco Jansen, who played a pivotal role throughout the season, was crowned the Rising Star, while Ottniel Baartman bagged the Bowler of the Season award.

A Fitting Finale:

The Betway SA20 culminated in a thrilling finale, showcasing the league’s growing popularity and exciting brand of cricket. The Sunrisers Eastern Cape stand tall as the undisputed champions, leaving fans eagerly anticipating the next edition of this promising tournament.

Full list of SA20 Award Winners:

Betway SA20 champions: Sunrisers Eastern Cape

Runners-up: Durban’s Super Giants

Spirit of Cricket Award: Sunrisers Eastern Cape

Rising Star: Marco Jansen (Sunrisers Eastern Cape)

Batter of the Season: Heinrich Klaasen (Durban’s Super Giants)

Bowler of the Season: Ottniel Baartman (Sunrisers Eastern Cape)

Betway Player of the Season: Heinrich Klaasen (Durban’s Super Giants)