Home of T20

An exclusive platform for T20 cricket

Sussex Sharks team preview for Blast T20 2019

Sussex Sharks team preview for Blast T20 2019

After failing to make it past the group stage in 2016 and 2017, the champions of 2009 put up an impressive performance in the previous edition where they finished third on the South Group points table with seven wins and three losses.

Sussex went into the knockout round having won their last three group games on the bounce. They met Durham in the quarter-final and defeated them by five wickets to advance to the semi-final where they registered a convincing 35-run victory over Somerset. Sussex, however, suffered a five-wicket loss to Worcestershire in the final to finish runner-up.

Laurie Evans was the tournament’s best batsman last season with 614 runs which included seven half-centuries while Jofra Archer was the team’s most successful bowler with 22 wickets.

Titles: 1 (2009)

Finals Days: 4

Sussex Sharks Squad for Vitality Blast T20 2019

Jofra Archer, Will Beer, Danny Briggs, Ben Brown, Alex Carey, Laurie Evans, Harry Finch, George Garton, Tom Haines, Mir Hamza, Chris Jordan, Rashid Khan, Tymal Mills, Delray Rawlins, Ollie Robinson, Abi Sakande, Phil Salt, Will Sheffield, Aaron Thomason, Reece Topley, Stiaan van Zyl, Luke Wells, David Wiese, Luke Wright.  

Overseas players: Rashid Khan (Afghanistan – first half of tournament), Alex Carey (Australia).

Sussex Sharks First Encounter

They will be playing on July 19, against Hampshire, South Group

County Ground, Southampton.

About Vitality Blast T20 2019:

The Vitality Blast 2019 will last from July 18 to September 21. This is the 17th year of the competition but only the second since its rebranding. The competition will kick start with the clash between Middlesex and Essex at the iconic Lord’s in London and will have a total of 133 matches. There will be a two-week break between the 4th quarter-final and the 1st semi-final. The Finals day, just like the last year, will comprise the semi-finals and the Final which will be played at Edgbaston in Birmingham.

The 18 first-class counties have been categorized into North and South Group for the T20 event. The league stage will see each team play against six of the other eight teams in its own group twice. The remaining two teams in the group will lock horns once, resulting in a total of 14 group games per team, out of which the top four teams will move ahead to the knockouts in the Quarter-final games.

Complete Schedule of Vitality T20 Blast 2019

Get the latest updates and News follow us on our social media channels