ICC WT20 Match Reports News

T20 World Cup 2021: Oman won Against Papua New Guinea

Match Ended: Oman won by 10 wickets

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021, is to begin on the 17th of October, in UAE and Oman. In the opening match of the T20 World Cup 2021, Oman won the toss and elected to field against Papua New Guinea. Papua New Guinea is making its debut in the World Cup. Papua New Guinea will be the 20th team to feature in the tournament that started in 2007.

An undefeated opening partnership of 131 runs between Aaqib Ilyas and Jatinder Singh leads Oman to a total victory over Papua New Guinea in the opening match of the 2021 ICC Men’s World Cup T20 with six overs left to play. Aqib Ilyas scored his 3rd T20I fifty in 43 balls, while, Jatindher Singh scored 73 runs in 42 balls. New bowlers Bilal Khan and Kaleemullah, who goes by just one name, took two wickets each for Oman. PNG player, Asad Vala scored 56 runs in 43 balls.


Match: Match 1

STADIUM: Oman Cricket Academy Ground, Al Amerat

Umpires: Chris Gaffaney, Kumar Dharmasena, Richard Kettleborough, Ahsan Raza

Match Referee: Ranjan Madugalle


OMAN: Zeeshan Maqsood (Captain), Jatinder Singh, Khawar Ali, Aqib Ilyas, Kashyap Prajapti, Muhammad Naseem Khushi, Mohammad Nadeem, Ayan Khan, Sandeep Goud, Bilal Khan, K Kaleemullah.

PAPUA NEW GUINEA: Assad Vala (Captain), Tony Ura, Charles Amini, Lega Siaka, Norman Vanua, Sese Bau Simon Atai, Kiplin Doriga, Nosaina Pokana, Daimen Ravu, Kabua Morea.


OMAN: 131/0 (13.4 overs)

PAPUA NEW GUINEA: 129/9 (20.0 overs)

Player Of The Match:

Zeeshan Maqsood (OMAN)

4/20 (4 overs)

RESULT: Oman beat Papua New Guinea by 10 wickets

Get the latest updates and News follow us on our social media channels