ICC WT20 News

T20 World Cup 2024 trophy will visit these three cities in Pakistan

T20 World Cup 2024 trophy will visit these three cities in Pakistan
Image via World Cup

The excitement for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 is ramping up as the coveted trophy embarks on a global tour. After kicking things off in the United States, the trophy has landed in Pakistan, generating a buzz among cricket fans.

Cricket Fever Grips Pakistan as T20 World Cup Trophy Makes Stopover

Islamabad currently basks in the glory of hosting the trophy, which arrived on Wednesday night. Cricket enthusiasts can catch a glimpse of the “Out of this World” trophy before it embarks on its journey to Lahore and Abbottabad, the next stops on its Pakistani tour.

The trophy tour isn’t just limited to established cricket nations. Fans in emerging cricket markets like Brazil, Argentina, and Canada will also get a chance to witness this prestigious symbol of cricketing excellence. Interestingly, the National Cricket Academy in Lahore will host the trophy on Saturday, coinciding with the high-octane Pakistan vs. New Zealand T20I match.

Meanwhile, the cricketing world eagerly awaits the much-anticipated clash between arch-rivals India and Pakistan on June 9th at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York.

The heat is on as the groups for the T20 World Cup 2024 have also been announced. Twenty qualifying teams have been divided into four groups (A, B, C, D), with the top two teams from each group progressing to the Super 8 stage. This stage will see two groups of four teams each, battling it out to reach the coveted semi-finals. Excitement will be at its peak as the winners of the semi-finals clash in the grand finale.

Cricket fans can look forward to a historic tournament, marking the first T20 World Cup hosted in the West Indies since 2010. Additionally, the USA will etch its name in history by hosting a major cricket event for the first time.

As the defending champions, England will be aiming to retain their title after their victorious run in the 2022 T20 World Cup held in Australia. The group stage promises enthralling encounters. Group A features powerhouses like India, Pakistan, and Ireland alongside Canada and the USA. Group B boasts heavyweights England and Australia, alongside Namibia, Scotland, and Oman. Group C pits New Zealand and the West Indies against Afghanistan, Uganda, and Papua New Guinea. Group D sees South Africa lock horns with Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, and Nepal.

With the T20 World Cup trophy tour underway and the groups announced, the cricketing world is gearing up for a spectacular tournament filled with nail-biting matches and unforgettable moments.

Also, see:

Pakistan cricket stalwart Bismah Maroof calls time on her illustrious career